RSS

Devil in the Details

04 Oct

Gravatar 1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Writing about a culture other than your own can provide more than a few complications. I a pure fantasy setting, the author has more control and, so long as he is consistent, can tweak things a bit and make it work. However, when we use a real culture to base our story on, and where a member of that culture may pick up and read your story, we had better get the details right. Unless…

My protagonist is half-Apache, a native american tribe that lives in the southwestern United States and into Mexico. His father was a tribal holy man and taught my protagonist the ways of spiritual medicine. During this instruction a ritual takes place to help my protagonist find a spiritual guide. The spirit guide helps an individual travel along life’s ever changing path. The spirit guide turns out to be “Snake”. This is where things get dicey.

I had written about three-quarters of the story before I found out how Snake is viewed in the Apache culture. The Apache see Snake as a very negative spirit. Often seen as evil, the Apache people will distance themselves from anything related to Snake. Whether it is the real creature, an image, a vision, or a story, Snake is Very bad medicine.

When I first made this discovery, I began to panic. Thinking I would need to rewrite whole sections to either change the spirit guide to something else, or change his tribe to something that looked favorably on the Snake. Instead of jumping off a cliff, I decided to go ahead and finish the first draft without making huge changes. I tried very hard to not let this knowledge guide the story in any way.

After the required cooling off period once the first draft was finished, I did a quick read through and a second read through where I jotted down the more glaring issues and holes. During the second time through, it hit me that the main character was still a little flat.Along with this I was leaning toward changing his tribal lineage.

Then while I was discussing a similar topic with my brother, it dawned on me that the answer to my flat character was right there. The fact that an Apache shaman has Snake as a spirit guide would add several layers of conflict for the character.

So not counting the major conflicts he faces throughout the plot line, he has to deal with being a half-breed, an Apache with Snake as a guide, and his job makes him walk the line between the normal world and those who use magic.

Now I have a character with more than a little color. Yes, I have to add a few sections to exacerbate and the situation, but it will definitely make for a more memorable character.

This turned out to be one of those details that worked out in the end. However, I am more careful about performing research on areas that I am not 100% sure of.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Devil in the Details

  1. AnnMarie Wyncoll

    October 4, 2016 at 11:23 am

    I can completely relate to your panic when you discovered the symbolism of the snake. I too have tripped up and panicked but it sounds like you handled it brilliantly. Not only that, it led you to another solution for a problem which had been troubling you so well done you! Your book sounds intriguing. All the best for its ongoing development 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      October 4, 2016 at 11:42 am

      Thank you. I know that even if I sold 100 million copies, the percentage of people who would know this was a “mistake” would still be very small. But, I would know and that would bother me. Just the way I roll. 😂😂

       
      • AnnMarie Wyncoll

        October 4, 2016 at 11:49 am

        I totally agree. I was having this conversation with myself the other day – I am obsessed with getting everything right, even the small details. I think that it is good to be that way because it shows the dedication and love that we have for our art but I also think it adds an inordinate amount of stress to what is already a tough gig! 🙂

         
      • Dennis Langley

        October 4, 2016 at 11:53 am

        I hope you told yourself that it is a good kind of stress that invigorates us and keeps the creative juices flowing…
        Of course your other self might reply that no, it’s just making me nuts! *dangers of self communication* 😂

         
      • AnnMarie Wyncoll

        October 4, 2016 at 12:11 pm

        I passed the ‘nuts’ stage a very, very long time ago… I am clinging to reality by a mere thread…

         
      • Dennis Langley

        October 4, 2016 at 12:13 pm

        Then there is still hope…

         
      • AnnMarie Wyncoll

        October 4, 2016 at 12:14 pm

        Haha – if you say so 🙂

         
  2. Mick Canning

    October 7, 2016 at 8:52 am

    That sounds like a good resolution. It is a minefield, certainly.

     

Leave a Reply

 
