RSS

Treasure Found!

22 Feb
First book

My First book

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

While cleaning out my father’s study, I came across a book that I had not seen in nearly thirty years.”Where Eagles Dare” by Alistair MacLean. It was the first book that I every read, cover to cover, on my own, without being forced to! And, I can honestly say that it is still one of the finest WWII spy novels ever written. *There, I went out on a limb on that comment.*

Seriously, if you like the spy thriller genre and you have not read this book, you are missing a real treat. Mr. MacLean spins a story web as well as any spider. He keeps you guessing until the very end. Since then, I have polished off many of his books and have never been disappointed. Many of his books were turned into movies which he wrote the screenplays. Hence most of the movies did the books justice. A rarity in the film industry.

Anyway, I’ve got my first book back and it has found an honored place among my “to read again” list…next up!

So, how about you? What was the first book you read? Do your still have it? Would you read it again?

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 22, 2016 in Other Strangeness

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Treasure Found!

  1. Mick Canning

    February 22, 2016 at 4:04 pm

    I still have the first book I ever read – a copy of The Wind in the Willows that my father bought some 53 years ago.

     
  2. Matthew Wright

    February 23, 2016 at 3:35 am

    I can’t remember which book I first read fully from cover to cover. Quite possibly The Wind In The Willows (same as Mick!), which was a childhood favourite. The copy I read is still in my late mother’s collection. Others that stick out include three ‘Professor Branestawm’ books autographed by their author, Norman Hunter. I met him when he was about 70 – he and his wife once visited my parents while he was in New Zealand, courtesy of a local bookstore owner. He was a real live writer with real published books, an amazing thing to my 8-year old self; and I always credit Hunter with being one of the people who inspired me to write. I’d happily read them again – total period pieces now (they were originally written in the 1930s and attitudes have definitely changed) but they were also part of my childhood in the late 1960s.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      February 23, 2016 at 8:30 am

      Very cool to meet an author so young and be inspired like that. I was a late reader. My brother was reading everything as soon as he was able. But, I didn’t start reading for enjoyment until I was 12 or 13.

       
  3. Pete Denton

    March 5, 2016 at 1:29 pm

    I honestly couldn’t tell you the first proper book I read, which I’m finding quite sad. Probably suggests it wasn’t very memorable so not on the to be read again list!

    Never really been into spy novels, but these types of books are right up my father’s street.

     

Leave a Reply

 
