RSS

The Third Anchor

11 Jan

Gravatar

 

 

 

 

 

 

My blog, though small, receives a sizable number of views each week from the Traditional Archery community. This due to two articles that I had published in the now defunct Stick and String Magazine. This has been a pleasant and unexpected surprise as I started the blog to discuss writing. But, the power of social media took over and the Traditional Archery forums send me visitors every day. Nice!

Most of those readers get here and, after reading those articles, look for additional archery information to read about. So, This will be the first of a series of posts relating to one of my other passions, “The mystical flight of the arrow”, traditional archery. Now please do not call me an archery snob. There is nothing wrong with compound bows or the people who choose to shoot them. I own two. I just like shooting my longbow and recurve bows more. Much of what I will discuss in my posts will translate for either traditional or compound shooters. So, let’s get started.

For years, I have had issues with my arrows impacting the target to the left of my aiming point regardless of the shot distance. This is not that uncommon for right-hand shooters. Now finger shooters who use sights will tell you to move you sight and that will fix the problem. Not necessarily. After much experimentation and a little reading, the problem became obvious. My eye was not in line with the arrow shaft. Using sights would make this adjustment somewhat easier. However, I shoot instinctively. In other words, i look at where I want the arrow to hit and my hands make the necessary adjustments. That’s the theory behind it. The reality of it is, like the golf swing or throwing a strike in baseball, there is a lot that goes into the perfect archery shot. Most critical is proper alignment of the body and sight picture.

To ensure that the archer can repeat the same shot every time, anchor points are used. For example, growing up my father taught me that when I brought the bowstring to full draw, I should put the tip of my middle finger on my string hand at the corner of my mouth. This worked for him just fine. and He was quite successful as a bowhunter. That’s how I learned to shoot. Guess what?. Most of my arrows drifted to the left of my target. It wasn’t the right anchor point for me. Much later I began placing the first knuckle of my string hand at the point of my jaw bone, beneath my ear. This increased my draw length and improved the alignment of my shoulder to my bow arm. A nice straight line. To ensure I was always at the same location and that my hand was in proper position, I tucked my first finger into the point of my cheekbone. This gave me a nice two anchor position that I could repeat over and over again.

Arrows still went left. *grumble, grumble*

Finally during a practice session I realized that sometimes when I turned my head just right. the arrows would hit the x-ring. After a little experimentation I found that if, at full draw, I tipped my head slightly to my right, the string would touch the tip of my nose. In that position, my eye was directly over the arrow with a straight line to the target. This third anchor point created a repeatable, very stable, sight picture that put the arrow in a perfect vertical plane. My “lefts and rights” came together into a vertical line. Because it is still new to me, I have to think about it. But it will become automatic in time.

Next time, I talk about the “ups and downs” and a little about judging distance.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2016 in Traditional Archery

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “The Third Anchor

  1. Pete Denton

    January 16, 2016 at 2:48 pm

    Archery is one of those things that I’ve always fancied having a go at but never seemed to have the chance. Not sure my eyesight is up to it nowadays.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      January 18, 2016 at 7:49 am

      Where there is a will, there is a way. I know a lot of archers who wear glasses… 🙂

       
      • Pete Denton

        January 18, 2016 at 12:57 pm

        good point. maybe I will give it a go one day.

         
  2. Kate Johnston

    January 18, 2016 at 8:18 pm

    My boyfriend took me out to practice with his bow and arrow one time. Emphasis on “one time.” 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      January 19, 2016 at 1:49 pm

      Shame you didn’t continue. It is a lot of fun given the right equipment and practice.

      There’s a joke in there somewhere…

       
  3. 1kayaker

    March 22, 2016 at 7:39 pm

    Thank you for sharing the above information. I am an instinctive archer. I been using a 40 lb bow but the older I get the less steady my bow arm is when I am shooting indoor tournaments. I decided to buy another bow maybe around a 34 lb. I shoot in the masters group. I am 73 years old and I am not ready to give it up. I still refuse to shoot compounds. Looking forward to read more of your suggestion.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      March 23, 2016 at 1:34 pm

      Thank you for stopping by and commenting. Archery is a lifelong learning experience. I’m glad you are still shooting. I’m a little tardy in my posting of late but, I’ve got a post about fixed crawl aiming coming up in the near future.

       

Leave a Reply

 
