RSS

777 Writer’s Challenge

03 Aug

It is hard to ignore a challenge. Especially one laid down by the lovely and talented owner of Sara Kjeldsen Writes. The challenge is pretty simple. Just open your current work in progress, go to the seventh line of the seventh page, and post the next seven sentences. Easy, peasy. Then tag seven other writers and challenge them to do the same. Not so easy.

After I read these seven sentences, i laughed. I was surprised that it took seven pages to get my protagonist into this much hot water. Anyway, He has a habit of biting off more than he can chew. So, here goes.

I stopped in mid-stride and slowly turned to face the most powerful wizard west of the Mississippi. She still stood behind the bar. Her eyes were wide with surprise but, she quickly recovered her composure.  Red sparks flashed from her casting rod. She flicked her hand and I heard the front door locks slam into place. Some of the patrons began to object, preferring to leave before two wizards began dueling. But, it was way too late for that.

Now a few author’s who should have something to offer up:

Kate Johnson

Scott Weber

Matthew Wright – He says he has some new fiction in the works, which I’m dying to read.

Corey MP

AnnMarie Wyncoll

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “777 Writer’s Challenge

  1. Kate Johnston

    August 4, 2015 at 12:26 pm

    I love wizards and stories about wizards. I don’t know if I’d mind watching a wizard duel. As long as the sparks don’t hit me, of course!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      August 4, 2015 at 1:06 pm

      That is the trick!
      I guess you’ll have to read the rest of the story to find out who wins… 😉

       
  2. Matthew Wright

    August 7, 2015 at 10:13 pm

    On to it! I’m waiting on an illustration of my main character that my publishers commissioned (brilliant idea – the web is SO visual these days) & a blog post will follow. The novella’s a couple of months off publishing…

    I can share the very first sentence though, right now: “Cam Suttler woke to muffled clanks and bangs as the hull plates of the Mission ship Star Witch found new equilibrium.”

     
  3. Sara Flower Kjeldsen

    August 30, 2015 at 10:51 pm

    Yay Dennis, you did the challenge! 😀 (Sorry for making myself too scarce)
    I enjoyed your excerpt as well. Where can I find the rest of the story?

     

Leave a Reply

 
