RSS

Old Ones

20 Jul

old-people-white-background-46871286

 

 

 

 

Near strangers.

Characters from dusty memories telling tales of great wars and a great depression.

Bent and gnarled they spew forth wit and wisdom, hard-earned, during hard times.

Horse-drawn plows and wood-fired stoves, hand-written letters, and bath water carried in from the pump house.

An ax turning a log into a pile of kindling as if by magic.

Epic poems, memorized in youth, recited back verbatim, proving the mind is sharp.

Gone too soon, before we realize the treasure they are.

Missed.

Memories cherished.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 20, 2015 in Other Strangeness

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “Old Ones

  1. Sara Flower Kjeldsen

    July 20, 2015 at 10:25 pm

    Dennis, I seemed to have somehow lost touch with you. 😦 I dug up your blog on Goggle when I noticed I wasn’t getting your blog updates on my feed?! I hope all is well. I enjoyed this piece very much and will catch up on many missed posts soon!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      July 21, 2015 at 7:16 am

      I have been pretty lax this year in keeping up with my blogging, but I am trying to improve. Not sure why you stopped getting what I have posted though. No matter. we’re back in touch. 🙂

       
      • Sara Flower Kjeldsen

        July 21, 2015 at 7:38 pm

        Yeah I noticed that I wasn’t following you and this happened with a lot of other blogs I followed as well. You’re right, all that matters is we’re back in touch.

         
  2. Kate Johnston

    July 30, 2015 at 5:25 am

    This is a sweet tribute to those in our lives who have taught us, nurtured us, and shown us the way. Beautifully done.

     

Leave a Reply

 
