RSS

The Doctor is in!

23 Apr

On the wall of my cubicle at work, just above my computer monitor, hangs my one and only quote from Shakespeare. I can recite several, but this one is my favorite. It is from “Henry V”. I first heard about it, not from reading the story, but from watching the movie, “Dr. Detroit”. Yes, really! It’s a very funny movie.

Doctor Detroit movie poster - Universal Pictures, 1983

Doctor Detroit movie poster – Universal Pictures, 1983

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

At one point in the movie, Dan Aykroyd’s character, with help from his faithful “squire”, Diavolo, changes from a mild-mannered college professor into his Dr. Detroit persona. He recites this quote as the Doctor is preparing to go battle the evil Mom! It was quite fitting as Dr. Detroit wore a mailed gauntlet on one hand and he needs Diavolo’s assistance to change his clothing (long story). The scene is quite dramatic and Aykroyd plays it brilliantly. You just have to see it. So, here goes…

“The hum of either army stilly sounds, 

That the fixed sentinels almost receive

The secret whispers of each other’s watch;

Fire answers fire, and through their pally flames

Each battle sees the other’s umbered face;

Steed threatens steed, in high and boastful neighs

Piercing the night’s dull ear, and from the tents

The armourers, accomplishing the knights,

With busy hammers closing rivets up,

Give dreadful note of preparation.”

Henry V – Shakespeare

 

I get the chills every time.

So what is your favorite Quote from Shakespeare?

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 23, 2015 in Other Strangeness

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 responses to “The Doctor is in!

  1. Mike

    April 24, 2015 at 6:18 am

    I like a line that a friend of mine keeps using. Let me get the exact line. Something to the effect of “whatever is is not”. I wrote it down. I wiil get it and let you know

     
  2. Damyanti

    April 25, 2015 at 7:27 pm

    My favorite is this:

    Nought’s had, all’s spent,
    Where our desire is got without content;
    ‘Tis safer to be that which we destroy
    Than by destruction dwell in doubtful joy.

     
  3. Kate Johnston

    April 29, 2015 at 7:21 am

    I will take a “Fail” on this. I can’t think of anything Shakespearean this morning. Although I’ll say my favorite play is A Midsummer’s Night’s Dream.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      April 29, 2015 at 8:39 am

      You get a “pass” on this because of you excellent choice of plays. It is my favorite as well.

       
  4. Charlotte Hoather

    June 20, 2015 at 8:13 am

    Nothing ventured nothing gained ☺️
    Hope you’re well Dennis
    Best wishes
    Charlotte

     

Leave a Reply

 
