RSS

Writing in November

31 Oct
Nabob and his new  girlfriend!

Nabob and his new girlfriend!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s Halloween. Tonight at midnight, the real crazies will come out. They will be strapped to their computers and notebooks, writing as fast as they can. Motivated by that magical number 50,000, they will band together in small groups in coffee houses and restaurants for support. They have kissed they significant others goodbye, told their friends to call them in 30 days and gone into self-imposed exile from the rest of the world. November is a crazy month for writers. NaNoWriMo!

I sat down to write a few days ago and banged out what I think will be the beginning of the climax to my WIP. When I saved the file, it dawned on me how close I am to the end. Sure, there are a few spots in the story that I need to beef up. But, the light at the end of the tunnel does not appear to be a train racing back at me.

I write slow. That’s who I am. 50,000 words in 30 days is not something I want to even try. I understand my limitations and November is the worst month of the year for me to try it. A friend of mine said it’s not the word count that matters. It’s the count of GOOD words that’s important.

So, what does all this mean? I only need a portion of the magic number to finish my WIP. Even though it’s November, the muse is knocking on the door. Nabob has settled in with his new main squeeze. And, most importantly, I want to see how this thing ends. My intention is to finish my WIP by December 1. I’m not sure what the final word count will be and frankly, I don’t care. To make sure I stay on track with this and get my blog going again I will provide weekly updates. Please feel free to give me a hard time if I drop the ball.

For those of you who will disappear tonight and return in 30 days, good luck to you. I wish you well.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 31, 2014 in Thoughts on Writing

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Writing in November

  1. char

    October 31, 2014 at 9:38 am

    Here’s to many good words to come (all year long)!

     
  2. Matthew Wright

    November 3, 2014 at 1:10 am

    All the very best & every success! Yes, I’ve always considered ‘word count’ a tool for writers – and a very good one, if used properly…but not a target, necessarily.

     
  3. Kate Johnston

    November 6, 2014 at 9:29 pm

    I used to do NaNo, but I think I have outgrown it. My current challenge is to make my book the best it can be so I can get it published.

    I wish you the best in your writing endeavors, Dennis. May your creative soul be fruitful!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      November 7, 2014 at 3:16 pm

      Thank you. I am kind of surprised how it’s finally coming together.

       

Leave a Reply

 
