RSS

Inspiring Spaces

15 Sep

inspiringspaces

 

 

 

 

As part of a blog hop run by Cate Russell-Cole, I was tagged by a wonderful lady named Jade Reyner, to share spaces that inspire me to write. Notice I did not say writing spaces. These are two different things for me. I posted about one of my three writing spaces back in June 2012 in a View of the Room. This is actually my home office where I do my day job one day a week and when I’m on call. It is full of inspiration and I love to be in this room even though oddly, it is not where I do most of my writing.

Reference and reading room

Reference and reading room

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have another writing room that houses most of my reference library, a comfortable chair for reading, and several paintings created by a friend who was inspired by one of my short stories. However, the spaces that inspire me to write are rarely indoors.

Inspirational View

Inspirational View

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Those who follow this blog know that I spend a great deal of time at my cabin. And, if you read back through my posts, you will find numerous references to the lake, the weather, and the fauna who allow me to interact with them. I find that nature inspires me more than anything else. When I get stuck, lost, frustrated, etc., going back to nature sets things right. The change of seasons triggers different moods that translate easily to the page.

Treasure trove of inspiration.  en.Wikipedia.com

Treasure trove of inspiration. en.Wikipedia.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Another source of inspiration are the numerous antique and junk shop excursions the Domestic CEO drags me invites me to join her on. Seeing the odds and ends of eras long gone, fires my imagination. I see a vase or a chair and I wonder where they have been? Who owned them? What type of house was it? Why did the owners part with the object? You can easily see where this line of thinking takes me.

Anyway, All my teachers used to say that I liked to daydream and look out the window. That’s where my inspiration was all along.

 

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 15, 2014 in Musings and Odd Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Inspiring Spaces

  1. sknicholls

    September 15, 2014 at 11:43 am

    I had to put my backyard view also, because that’s where almost all of the thinking occurs. The writing part comes at my desk, but the plotting and character development takes place elsewhere.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 15, 2014 at 1:15 pm

      It;s that daydreaming where the magic happens. 🙂

       
  2. robincoyle

    September 15, 2014 at 2:30 pm

    I do my best writing at our cabin! That is where I am right now. Somehow sitting on the porch and looking into the forest rests my brain enough that words can be put on the page.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 15, 2014 at 2:35 pm

      Amen, Sister. We have to remove the extraneous BS in order for the jewels to appear. 🙂

       
  3. Cate Russell-Cole

    September 15, 2014 at 7:16 pm

    Being outdoors in the best place, indeed! Thanks for coming on board with the blog hop Dennis. 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 16, 2014 at 7:33 am

      Thank you for having me. It gave me a great reason to think about where I write and why there.

       

Leave a Reply

 
