RSS

Quote of the day 8/28/14

28 Aug

004

In April of 2013, I replied to a particular blog post. Unfortunately, I can not remember the name of the blog. However, the post related to making mistakes and trying to learn from them. I was feeling a bit snarky that day. The night before, I had screwed up a knife that I’d been making for a friend. It was the third time I had messed up the handle. But for whatever the reason, I made the following comment on the blog:

“We’re a product of our environment and experiences. mistakes are a hammer on the anvil of life. Good steel must be hammered repeatedly…”

I wasn’t really thinking when I wrote it. The words just sort of came out based on my reaction to the blog post I’d just read. I don’t remember whether or not I proofed it before I hit send. I just moved on to the next blog. A few minutes after I posted the comment, a blog/twitter friend asked if she could borrow it. Puzzled but not overly so, I said yes. The next thing I knew, she had tweeted my comment. It wasn’t until I read the tweet that I realized what I had said. I liked it and it fit my life at that moment. What can I say, even I can be profound once in a while. 🙂

How about you? Have you ever made an off-hand comment that you later realized was profound in some way?

 
12 Comments

Posted by on August 28, 2014 in Musings and Odd Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , ,

12 responses to “Quote of the day 8/28/14

  1. sknicholls

    August 28, 2014 at 9:12 am

    I rarely come up with anything as profound without really stretching for it Ugh!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      August 28, 2014 at 12:51 pm

      I certainly surprised myself that day. 🙂

       
  2. Matthew Wright

    August 29, 2014 at 5:43 pm

    It’s a great comment! I find, for myself, that my offhand remarks seldom mean what I intend – or are worth repeating later…

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 2, 2014 at 7:34 am

      Agreed. But once in a while a gem is mined from the black hole that is my brain. 🙂

       
  3. Jade Reyner

    August 31, 2014 at 2:49 pm

    Everything I say is profound Dennis 😉

    Seriously though – what a great comment. You didn’t know you had such talent 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 2, 2014 at 7:35 am

      Of course it is Jade. I’m sure your husband would agree. 😉

       
  4. Pete Denton

    September 1, 2014 at 9:48 am

    I doubt that I have! Great words though. 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 2, 2014 at 7:38 am

      Thanks, Pete. You probably have just didn’t know it. A man of your wisdom most assuredly. 🙂

       
  5. Kate Johnston

    September 2, 2014 at 7:55 pm

    I’m not very profound. But, I like your stuff!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 3, 2014 at 7:20 am

      You forget. I’ve read you stuff too. You are very profound.

       
  6. christawojo

    September 16, 2014 at 5:08 pm

    My characters are the ones who come up with all the good lines.

    And I agree with your quote. Experiences are what shape us, especially the bad ones!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 17, 2014 at 8:16 am

      That’s true about characters. They are wiser than we sometimes give them credit for. Thanks for dropping by.

       

Leave a Reply

 
