RSS

View of the Garden

26 Aug
Some of My Daylillies starting to bloom!

Some of my daylillies in bloom!

I have not blogged about one of my other passions, gardening. I can’t say why. It just didn’t seem to be right for this blog. Well, I’ve changed my mind.

Do you believe in magic? If you answered no, I want you to go outside and take a walk in nature. If you still don’t see it, find a gardener and ask them to show you. You see, magic is everywhere in nature. As a fantasy writer, if I need inspiration, I look outside and watch the daylillies change from bare ground, to little green spikes, to fountains of green leaves, to rockets of stalks that explode into glorious colorful displays. The idea of fireworks had to come from man’s trying to copy the splendor of daylillies growing to full bloom.

These were "throw aways" from the hybridizer.

These were “Throw aways” from the hybridizer.

Here are a couple of my favorites that were actually throw away plants from a local hybridizer. The colors and petal structure are normal for these plants. Throw aways, Really? Yes.

Still another "Throw away"!

Still another “Throw away”!

Do you want to be a better artist? Paint detailed gardens. The variety of textures created by the foliage will force you to perfect every type of brush stroke there is. When I designed my gardens, I spent more time thinking about texture than I did about colors. The reason is that most plants only produce blooms for a short time. The foliage however, is there all season. Even the textures of a hosta glade vary as each cultivar has unique shape and growth habit.

Textures of the foliage are overseen by the Watcher!

Textures of the foliage are overseen by the Watcher!

Then there is the magic of water. Moving water is best but any water holds magic. The sound of water splashing over boulders that are older than time creates a vibration within one’s body that is both soothing and invigorating. Cool water flowing over sun-warmed rock. Softly sliding over hard surfaces, the clear fluid continues to move toward the center, wherever that might be.

Mystic Waterfall (My Backyard)

Mystic Waterfall
(My Backyard)

And lastly, a sure-fire cure for writer’s block. Find a well-textured garden and get down on your hands and knees. Better still, on your belly. Get your eyes down as low as possible. Crawl forward until you are right at the edge of the foliage. Look into it and imagine you are a rabbit or chipmunk. What adventures await you as you enter into the jungle before you? What dangers lurk beyond the first few leaves. Get closer. Try to move through the leaves to the next layer. How does the view change? How does this affect you? Now you see how this change of perspective can stimulate the imagination and open up a blocked mind to allow the muse a chance to work again.

My gardens are a source of peace, therapy, and inspiration for me. What do you use?

 

 
18 Comments

Posted by on August 26, 2014 in Garden Walks

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

18 responses to “View of the Garden

  1. sknicholls

    August 26, 2014 at 11:35 am

    I love seeing the hosta lilies in the shade and the babbling brook. It’s so inviting. So hot here in Florida.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      August 26, 2014 at 12:14 pm

      Thank you. Ah yes, the Sunshine State. You can tell me all about it in a few months when we are at -20 degrees and have 3 feet of snow to shovel. 😉

       
  2. char

    August 26, 2014 at 1:22 pm

    Your garden is gorgeous! I loved seeing all your pictures and totally see why you’d feel peace designing and keeping it up. I love mine too and it’s pretty nice right now (once I finally get the rest of the peaches and nectarines harvested it will be better because I’ll get to rest–something I haven’t got to do in over a week because I’m trying to beat the birds to my fruit and it’s a never-ending job)

     
    • Dennis Langley

      August 26, 2014 at 2:42 pm

      Thank you. I wish I could grow fruit trees. Let’s make a deal. You bring the nectarines and I’l provide the gazebo, gardens, and wine!

       
      • char

        August 27, 2014 at 2:50 pm

        After almost harvesting all the peaches, I’ll have no problem handing over my whole nectarine tree to you. I’m tired.

         
      • Dennis Langley

        August 27, 2014 at 2:52 pm

        Hmm. Peach Iced tea! **smiles** Very refreshing! 🙂

         
      • char

        August 27, 2014 at 2:59 pm

        Peach everything is good. We’ve done milkshakes, smoothies, cobbler, (and I want to do some good pie as soon as it cools down some and I dare turn on my oven)

         
      • Dennis Langley

        August 27, 2014 at 3:08 pm

        There you’ve gone and done it. I’ve officially drooled on my keyboard.

         
  3. Jade Reyner

    August 26, 2014 at 3:07 pm

    I love your photos and I can feel the passion in every word. You obviously spend a lot of time tending them and get a great deal of enjoyment from them. I like gardens in the sense that I enjoy sitting in them and I like nothing more than to write outside, listening to little but the calls of nature. I won’t however take you up on your offer of crawling around on my belly – far too many little creatures that make me scream down there! Great post Dennis. 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      August 26, 2014 at 3:12 pm

      Thanks. But I’m confused. I would have thought that a princess like you wouldn’t be afraid of coming face-to-face with a toad! 😉

       
      • Jade Reyner

        August 26, 2014 at 3:15 pm

        Oh my goodness… someone has been reading the book of ‘one liner’s’ 🙂

        But for the record, it’s the things with eight legs that I am not too keen on.. 😀

         
      • Dennis Langley

        August 26, 2014 at 3:18 pm

        “Little Miss Muffet,
        sat on her tuffet,
        eating her curds and wey…”

        Remember you are bigger than they are and they are more afraid of you than you are of them. At least they’re supposed to be. Ha Ha!

         
      • Jade Reyner

        August 26, 2014 at 3:50 pm

        I know all of that. And I am bigger than them – but they just look at me in that way – you know? 🙂

         
      • Dennis Langley

        August 26, 2014 at 3:53 pm

        And all they see you as is food! Mwaahaahaa

         
  4. jhmae

    August 27, 2014 at 11:50 am

    Beautiful design! I have a veggie garden right now BUT I’m turning a weed-infested corner of my yard into a bulb garden. Just spent $85 on bulbs! It’s true that watching things grow is miraculous almost – just a little sun and water and poof! New life! 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      August 27, 2014 at 2:05 pm

      I’m always surprised in the spring to see the new growth from old plants. Very cool!

       
  5. Matthew Wright

    August 29, 2014 at 5:38 pm

    Brilliant garden! I must confess, here in NZ our garden is growing weeds just now. Not something I go near as I seem to have much the same effect on plants as Round Up, my wife’s the green-fingered one… 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 2, 2014 at 7:33 am

      If you have that effect, then your wife needs your help to get rid of the weeds. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
