RSS

Little houses

10 Mar

30 years ago I walked into a little nick knack shop in Littleton, Colorado. There in a case was the most amazing little house. Only a few inches tall and made from some type of ceramic, it depicted a woodcutter’s hut built around a tree. The hut included so much detail for being so little. I was captivated. I don’t recall the price they asked back then. However, at the time, newly married and one minimum wage income, there was no way I could afford it. Time passed and I moved on to other things, but I never forgot the woodcutters hut.

A few years ago while walking through a local thrift store, I noticed a cute little house with a thatched roof and a waterwheel. For a couple of dollars I picked it up as an inspiration piece for my study. It was created by Lilliput Lane and was titled the Watermill. Over the next couple years I picked up several more pieces to add to my collection.

Watermill

Watermill

More detail on the Watermill

More detail on the Watermill

Fast forward until a few months ago. I was looking at my little Watermill and thought about the woodcutter’s hut. Hmm. I wonder if I could find one online? So. I went searching for The Woodcutter’s Hut. I did not know the manufacturer, so I started with Lilliput Lane. No hits. It took a while but I finally found what I was looking for. The Woodcutter’s Cottage was created by David Winter back in 1983. The production was retired in 1988.

The Woodcutter's Cottage Image courtesy of David Winter. info

The Woodcutter’s Cottage Image courtesy of David Winter. info

Now for the bad news. The asking price on Amazon is $200 USD. Now some of you would say, “Go for it. You’ve waited a long time. You can afford it now.” And, you would probably be right. However, compared to the $3.99 USD, I paid for my last David Winter piece, this would cost more than my whole collection combined. Not a bargain.

So, unless one of you, my dearest friends in the whole wide world, have a copy you would be willing to part with for something less than my right arm, I will wait and see what comes up on eBay and the thrift stores. You never know what you’ll find and as my Domestic CEO keeps telling me, “It’s the thrill of the hunt!”

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 10, 2014 in Other Strangeness

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Little houses

  1. Pete Denton

    March 10, 2014 at 10:23 am

    My dad used to collect Lilliput lane pieces. He had quite a collection then decided to get rid of them all and either sold or gave to charity. Happy hunting. I’m sure one will appear on ebay sometime as I agree that $200 seems steep.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      March 10, 2014 at 10:59 am

      Thanks. Collecting is a slow but rewarding process.

       
  2. 4amWriter

    March 11, 2014 at 8:12 am

    Good luck in your hunt. I bet you’ll find one at a better price.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      March 11, 2014 at 10:23 am

      Thanks.I hope so it’s a cute little house and it would be a great addition to my study.

       
  3. Matthew Wright

    March 12, 2014 at 1:28 am

    I’ve often been tempted with those things myself. I think they’re N-gauge equivalent scale (1/160). Weta Workshop also produce “Hobbit” memorabilia in that exact style, and I can get them here in their ‘Weta Cave’ shop, but I really couldn’t see myself parting with $600 for a Lilliput Lane style model of Bag End. Nor could my wife… 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      March 12, 2014 at 2:56 pm

      But Matt, It’s Bag End!!! Limited edition collector item! And… you got that big new contract! Come on, treat yourself! LOL! 🙂

       
      • Matthew Wright

        March 12, 2014 at 7:46 pm

        What I really want is the Dr Grordbort Ray Blunderbuss. But if I’m going to pay $1200 for a zap gun model that can give a blue whale a rash through 200 yards of salt water (so the blurb says), I want it to actually work…

         
      • Dennis Langley

        March 13, 2014 at 7:13 am

        Now you’re talking !! LOL

         

Leave a Reply

 
