RSS

Just Weird!

14 Feb

Have you every sat down to do something and the next thing you know a whole day has gone by? It’s been eleven days since my last post and for the life of me, I have no idea where the time went. It’s not like when I was unemployed for five months and would play Harpoon on my IBM Model 50z from 9:00 PM until 3:00 AM. I knew what I was doing then. I was a conscious choice. I was trying to escape the fact that 250 resumes were sent out to 250 companies and only two interviews were generated. If you have to take off your shoes to figure out the numbers, that’s 248 reject letters!!! But I digress.

I got a flash update on MAVEN ans the next thing I know it’s Friday morning a week later and I don’t know where the time went. There is some good news. Wherever the time went, at least some of it went towards the WIP. Progress is being made and the writing habit I set out to create this year seems to be working. As you’ll see later even that had huge amounts of weirdness. Now that I know I lost time, I’ve been trying to find it. It’s strange there are just blank spots that I can’t account for. All of the important stuff got done like paying bills loving on the cats, and going to work. So, I was at least functioning physically. Quite strange.

Have you ever gone back to review your writing progress and determined that your word count for the last week has been EXACTLY the same everyday? I kid you, not! Every day since the 3rd the number of words spilling out of my head and into the laptop as been EXACTLY the same!!! The time spent writing varies from day-to-day by anywhere from five to twenty minutes.

So, what gives? Any ideas? Today is the full moon so that can’t be it. The waxing moon is my high energy period of the month. Maybe that plays into it? But, why do I write the same number of words? The scenes have been different in nature and feel. The one constant, which has been so for well beyond the period in question, has been writing have been fun. I like what’s coming out and it seems to be working. The muse is not fussing and the internal editor has gone south to get out of the extreme cold we’ve been dealing with.

Maybe this weirdness is a good thing? Oh, oh. i got an idea for the beaded moccasin scene, gotta go. See you later.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on February 14, 2014 in Other Strangeness

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “Just Weird!

  1. robincoyle

    February 14, 2014 at 4:34 pm

    Wanna hear something MORE weird? I was reading this post when I got a notification on my phone that you liked my beer post. Eerie.

     
  2. Charissa

    February 14, 2014 at 11:35 pm

    Ha. Yes, I’ve wondered where time has gone too between my posts. I say, “Wait a minute…didn’t I just pull my hair out trying to write a post yesterday?” and yet..a week or so has passed and I don’t know where it has gone. Totally weird. Glad you’re having fun though. I guess your word count being the same can only be explained by a twitch in your brain. You hit that count and a buzzer somewhere inside you goes off and keeps you from writing anymore. Good luck with that.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      February 17, 2014 at 10:20 am

      It has been a strange couple of weeks. But I will not complain about progress. 🙂

       
  3. sknicholls

    February 14, 2014 at 11:36 pm

    It is good that you have words every day. I can waste eleven days and not have squat to show for it.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      February 17, 2014 at 10:22 am

      Oh, but I know how you feel. A day or two can turn into ten or twenty really fast, if we are not careful.

       
  4. 4amWriter

    February 15, 2014 at 8:47 am

    I like blaming the moon on lots of things, so we’ll go with that.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      February 17, 2014 at 10:23 am

      I once did a study of my energy level and mood every day for a year. It was very eye opening. There is something to it, I’m sure of it. :-).

       
  5. jackiemallon

    February 15, 2014 at 11:46 am

    Weird but if it works… Maybe it’s like when our internal clocks wake us up in the morning without an alarm clock because our system has become used to a certain rising time. Same thing with your writing. It has calculated how many words you are capable of committing to on a daily basis and has set about scheduling it into your day whether you’ve been consulted or not. Wish mine was as reliable!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      February 17, 2014 at 10:25 am

      It caught me totally by surprise. However, like you said, I’ll take reliability as long as it remains consistent. 😉

       
  6. Matthew Wright

    February 15, 2014 at 6:05 pm

    Time is an elastic commodity. I used to think it was defined by our engagement with our activity but I wonder now whether it’s just elastic.

    I used to play Harpoon myself, way back when. Wonderful game & astonishingly complex – I think it would give some of today’s a run for their money in that sense. I still have the CD kicking around somewhere but whether it’d run on modern hardware is entirely another issue.

     
  7. Dennis Langley

    February 17, 2014 at 10:28 am

    Between Harpoon and Red Storm Rising, I kept my sanity during five long months of stress. I think my copy of Harpoon was donated to a thrift store sometime last year. haven’t played in years.

     
  8. Pete Denton

    February 22, 2014 at 12:08 pm

    Great that you’re finding your rhythm for your WIP. Definitely weird that you’re hitting the same wordcount each day, but must be something about being in the zone. Or alien influence because of all your space related posts. One or the other 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      March 10, 2014 at 7:58 am

      It has been very strange. After my run of the exact word count days. I missed a day and now it varies but not by much. Not going to complain. The words are coming and that’s good. Aliens, So that’s who moved into the neighborhood? 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
