RSS

Lost – Writing partner

20 Jan
Nabu, Where are you?

Nabu, Where are you?

I walked into my writing room and suddenly realized there was a void in the dust on the dust atop the book-case. The space where my writing partner sat was bare. (You remember him from an earlier post. He took over my blog to get a new name. The name he chose was, Nabu, the Babylonian god of wisdom and writing which was suggested by Eagle-eyed Editor.)

What seemed most odd was that there was a trace of dust in the void. My uncanny powers of deduction indicated that my partner had been missing for some time. Now guilt struck me because I had not noticed his absence sooner. The excuse I have settled on is that I was so engrossed in writing that I simply overlooked his absence. I know, weak but passable.

I searched high and low, starting in the obvious places. As the god of wisdom and writing, it would make sense Nabu would go somewhere like my office or the other bookshelves in the house. However, I could not find him. I restrained from calling out to him for fear of what my two cats and the domestic CEO might say. My having a skull as a writing partner is still new to them. For several days I scoured the homestead. I even traveled to the cabin in search of my cohort.

One evening, the domestic CEO entered my office to find me desperately digging through a file cabinet. She calmly closed the file drawer, gently reached up and took a hold of my face, and screamed at me, “What the hell are you doing?”

I explained my plight, that I searched for my writing partner and that I felt guilty for not noticing his departure. The domestic CEO patted my cheek and smiled at me.

“Oh, that,” she said. “I put it in the garage with the other Halloween decorations.”

She turned and walked away leaving me staring aghast after her.

Relief washed over me as I realized Nabu was safe. However, the task of finding him among the myriad of decoration boxes would not be easy. Uh oh! He had been missing for months. My feeble excuse would not fly. Ah, a new idea came to me. The domestic CEO had aged another year, taking her into the realm of geezerhood. She had placed him in the decoration boxes. I would tell Nabu that her mind is going and she had forgotten what she did and where she had placed him. Yes, yes, that just might work.

I will head to the garage this weekend to release my partner. I hope he buys my story.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2014 in Other Strangeness

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Lost – Writing partner

  1. jackiemallon

    January 20, 2014 at 9:38 am

    I guess it’s better than the partner most writers choose…whiskey 🙂

     
  2. Pete Denton

    January 20, 2014 at 4:37 pm

    It’s strange the things we don’t see missing sometimes. Happy searching and explaining!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      January 20, 2014 at 4:54 pm

      We’ll see what kind of storyteller i really am! 😉

       
  3. 4amWriter

    January 21, 2014 at 7:56 pm

    Take comfort in the fact that you could still write successfully and happily without him glaring at you. That means you did what you needed to do even if he was mingling with plastic spiders. Maybe he enjoyed himself!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      January 22, 2014 at 7:36 am

      Ah, yes. Perhaps you are right. He may be hiding from me as I have yet to locate the box he is in. 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
