RSS

A Renewal Accord

16 Jan
Courtesy of Free-picture.net

Courtesy of Free-picture.net

Two years ago, today, I posted the inaugural Welcome Post on this blog. Within minutes, Teschoeborn was the first to Like and comment. Truthfully, I about fell out of my chair when I saw the comment notification light come on. She was also a newbie and we said we would support each other as neither one of us knew what to expect. Little did I know just how much support I could expect from the world at large.

In the beginning, I thought this blog would be about writing and the journey of becoming a published author. As usual the best laid plans… I have virtually met some fascinating people from around the world, many I consider my friends. That is not trivial for me to say.

The blog has covered topics ranging from writing craft, to real space adventures involving the MAVEN project, to creating longer arrows for a traditional bow, to poetry, to eagles, and even a fish story. Not quite what I had in mind when I started.

As I look back, it occurs to me that the blog has done exactly what it was supposed to. It shows the journey. The only constant in life is change.One of my favorite sayings supports this constant. “This too shall pass.”

My approach to reading other blogs has changed as well. At first it was mostly new writers and a few legitimate profession writers. These days I spend time on poetry blogs, photography, editors, Olympic athletes, and blogs by classical musicians. I recently read my first romance novel. notice how I buried this information deep in the post. 😉 I’ve written reviews and critiques of published works. All in all a very interesting journey.

In the midst of one of the coldest winters in recent Minnesota history, I reflect on the purposes of winter, rest and renewal. I have learned to cherish time off. I guard it like Ft. Knox. I no longer take rest or afternoon naps (when I can take them) for granted. You will too as age sneaks up on you.

And so, I am renewing my blog for another year. WordPress offered me two years for the price of one but I’m not sure I can commit to two years. Seriously, I am looking forward to sending out my posts and reading yours. As Mr. Miaggi would say, “You and I will make sacred pact. I promise to write blogs that are at least somewhat interesting. That’s my part. Your promise to read them and comment. That’s your part.” Good. We have an accord.

Now it’s nap time. See you in two hours!

 
14 Comments

Posted by on January 16, 2014 in Musings and Odd Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “A Renewal Accord

  1. robincoyle

    January 16, 2014 at 5:52 pm

    Good luck for the next two years!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      January 16, 2014 at 10:43 pm

      Thank you. Can I assume you have agreed to your part of the accord? 🙂

       
      • robincoyle

        January 17, 2014 at 1:10 pm

        Of course!

         
      • Dennis Langley

        January 19, 2014 at 6:48 pm

        Super! I’m looking forward to hear from you ’cause you always have an interesting take on things.

         
  2. Matthew Wright

    January 17, 2014 at 1:16 am

    I for one will definitely be taking up your accord – looking forward to visiting your blog and to your next year’s posts. And if you decide to cease blogging in a year, please do keep in contact after!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      January 19, 2014 at 6:41 pm

      Excellent. i will be here until someone throws me out! i was trying for a little levity and failed miserably. Oh well. 😉

       
  3. 4amWriter

    January 17, 2014 at 5:20 am

    Looking forward to more great posts from you, Dennis. One or two years or more, however long you decide, I’ll be reading.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      January 19, 2014 at 6:43 pm

      I’ll be here. I appreciate your support, more than you know.

       
  4. Vanessa-Jane Chapman

    January 17, 2014 at 8:03 am

    It’s funny how blogging turned out to be different than we expected for so many of us – it’s the sense of community that has been the biggest suprise to most of us I would say. The building of those mutually supportive relationships is truly wonderful. Happy next year of blogging to you!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      January 19, 2014 at 6:44 pm

      Absolutely. The community we’ve joined is truly amazing. Thank you for your support.

       
  5. Cindy Zilligen

    January 17, 2014 at 8:51 pm

    If you write it, people will read it! Pursue your own Field of Dreams, Dennis!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      January 19, 2014 at 6:49 pm

      So far, you’re right. Thanks for your support. Come back anytime. 🙂

       
  6. Pete Denton

    January 18, 2014 at 7:35 am

    I agree about the original idea for setting up a blog and the reasons you continue to post can vary wildly, but it’s all part of the journey and you’ve found your style and stick with it.

    Happy anniversary. I sign the accord 🙂

     
  7. Dennis Langley

    January 19, 2014 at 6:46 pm

    Outstanding! Variety is the spice of life. So, we’ll see what comes out of this strange mind that lives within my head. Thanks for your support.

     

Leave a Reply

 
