RSS

Tribute to a dear friend

03 Dec
Good-bye, Dave.

Good-bye, Dave.

On Saturday, a star fell from the sky. My friend David Holland passed away after a twenty-year long fight with cancer. The depth of this man and the impact he made on those around him cannot be measured with words.

We met while volunteering for the Boy Scouts of America. Correction, I was volunteering. Dave lived it and breathed it. For years, he was the Scoutmaster to a troop of 100 boys! Only Dave could pull that off. After he ‘retired’ from being a Scoutmaster, he continued to support the Scouting movement by working at the district level. He always put the boys first, no matter what.

At the time we met, I was thirty, married with no kids. As an Eagle Scout, I wanted to give back to the program that had done so much for me in my youth. Dave got a call from the district office that I was looking to get involved. Dave met with me and we hit it off. I found out later that he not only did a background check on me, but he stood up for me when several of the parents questioned him about my interest in the troop, since I had no son of my own.

Outside of my own family, I can think of no one that respect more than Dave. We spent several lifetimes sharing stories and adventures around campfires. He was a story teller and one of the first persons to encourage me to write. He was truly a good man and a good friend.

I will miss him.

May the great Scoutmaster of all great Scouts, be with us until we meet again. – Boy Scout Prayer

Mitakuye Oyasin!

 
15 Comments

Posted by on December 3, 2013 in Other Strangeness

 

15 responses to “Tribute to a dear friend

  1. Jade Reyner

    December 3, 2013 at 4:37 am

    He sounds like he was a truly wonderful man. I am so sorry for your loss and offer my condolences to all who knew and loved him.

     
  2. Traci

    December 3, 2013 at 8:06 am

    I’m sorry for your loss, Dennis, and the loss that so many others are no doubt feeling after Dave’s passing. This is a lovely tribute.

     
  3. char

    December 3, 2013 at 10:12 am

    What a great man, and what a nice tribute you wrote. Men like him make a big impact in the world by reaching out and helping individuals like his Boy Scouts. They are an inspiration to us all.

     
  4. 4amWriter

    December 3, 2013 at 10:31 am

    I’m sorry for your loss, Dennis. We really need more like him. This was a lovely post in his honor.

     
  5. Kim Klammer-Bishop

    December 3, 2013 at 7:33 pm

    That is really awesome!! I am sorry for your loss of such a dear friend!!

     
  6. broadsideblog

    December 4, 2013 at 10:52 am

    So sorry for your loss. I write for the Boy Scout magazine and am in awe of the energy and dedication that Scoutmasters give. He made a great difference to many people.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      December 4, 2013 at 11:19 am

      Thank you. I cannot begin to count the number of lives he touched through Scouting. Sometime, I would like to talk with you about your connection to the Scouting magazine. That sounds very interesting.

       
  7. Sara Kjeldsen

    December 5, 2013 at 12:36 am

    This is a wonderful tribute. I am very sorry for your loss.

     
  8. Matthew Wright

    December 5, 2013 at 11:32 pm

    Your words are a kind and wonderful tribute to your friend. He clearly made a difference to many through his life, and that is so important. I am so sorry to hear of your loss.

     

Leave a Reply

 
