RSS

Content and Awards

04 Nov

abc-award

A lovely lady from the UK, Jade Reyner, thought enough of my blog to gift me with the Awesome Blog Content Award. I am honored. If you have not stopped by her blog to give her a hard time to see her fun and informative posts, you should do so immediately, if not sooner. Be sure to ask her for a cuppa and some clotted cream. Trust me on this.

As for the award, I have received a few awards in the past. But as I think about this one the name of it means a little more to me now than it did over a year ago. Content.

We who blog, should give a great deal of thought to the content of what we post. Whether our blog’s purpose is to entertain, inform, or provoke thoughts, we bloggers need to weigh carefully the content we attach to our names. I’ve been reading Kristen Lamb‘s book, ‘Rise of the Machines’. In it, Kristen talks about authors using social media to build a brand which is , in fact, is our names. Good content is received and remembered by the author’s name. Bad content is also received and remembered by the author’s name. If the blogger’s goal is to build a following, regardless of the purpose of the blog, then the quality of the content is critical.

Therefore, to receive acknowledgement for the content of my blog, is something I truly appreciate. That it comes from someone I respect for their own content makes it doubly so. Thank you, Jade.

For those of you new to blogging, most awards have rules attached to them which usually involves providing information about the nominee to learn a little about the person behind the blog.

So, here are the rules:-

1. Display the Award on your Blog.
2. Announce your win with a post and thank the Blogger who awarded you.
3. Present 8 deserving Bloggers with the Award.
4. Link your awardees in the post and let them know of their being awarded with a comment.
5. Write a word or phrase about yourself for each letter of the Alphabet.

Numbers 1 – 3 are easy…number 4 takes some thought…and here is the tricky bit, number 5. Here goes!

A- Archer – I shoot a custom longbow for fun and hunting

B- BCP (Business Continuity Professional) – I help my company prepare for and mitigate the effects of a                                                                            disaster.

C- Complex – My interests and views vary widely.

D- Devoted – 32 years with the same domestic CEO

E- Educated (both academic and street) – Some long stories here.

F- Friendly – Okay it’s my opinion.

G- Gallant

H- Husband – See ‘D’ above

I- Inquisitive – The day I no longer want to learn, put me in the ground

J- Jokester – I love to give and receive.

K- Knife maker – One of my many hobbies

L- Loyal –

M- Medic – Eight years as an Emergency Medical Technician on Advanced Life Support ambulances

N- Noble – I like to think so.

O- Open-minded – See “I” above

P- Punctual (Except when posting a blog) If you’re on time, you’re late!

Q- Quaint (Old fashioned) I believe in manners and rustic things

R- Respectful – Something sorely lacking in today’s youth!!!!!

S- Sensitive

T- Thankful – I have lived a blessed life and I’m not afraid to said it out loud.

U- Upfront – What you see is what you get…for the most part.

V- Verbal – Once I get to know you.

W- Warped – Sense of humor

X- Xenagogue (Yes its a real word and it fits look it up.)

Y- Young-at-heart. I try to laugh every day (**secret** to a long marriage!!!)

Z- Zeebee – (High School Mascot)

Here are some blogs that you really should follow:

Matthew Wright

Kristen Lamb

Kourtney Heintz

Bayard & Holmes

Jennifer M Eaton

Broadside

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2013 in Other Strangeness

 

9 responses to “Content and Awards

  1. Matthew Wright

    November 4, 2013 at 11:17 pm

    Congratulations on the award! Well deserved! I have to say I can identify with your alphabet-identification list… in detail. I definitely agree about respectful – it’s something that really does seem to lack in youth these days (MAN I sound old!) and for all we may think such things as respect, care, kindness, courtesy might be ‘old fashioned’, the fact is that some of those ‘old fashioned’ values absolutely worked, they had a quality about them, and we’ve lost something today by not following them so much as a society. I guess it’s up to people like you and me (and, I think, many of the other bloggers whose sites we variously frequent – who seem to have similar values) to keep up the standards in our various parts of the world.

    And thank you, very much, for the shout-out, much appreciated.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      November 5, 2013 at 11:43 am

      Thanks, Matt. It’s an interesting exercise to label oneself with one or two words. But, I agree with your take on the old-fashioned values. And by the way, you are still a young spring chicken. 😉

       
  2. Christopher Patterson

    November 5, 2013 at 12:39 am

    Congratulations on the award. Seems like a lot of work as a recipient haha.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      November 5, 2013 at 11:35 am

      Thanks,
      Yeah on the work, but it is kinda fun. 🙂

       
  3. 4amWriter

    November 5, 2013 at 7:41 pm

    Congrats, Dennis. Some interesting tidbits you listed. Now I know what to use against you. 😉

     
  4. Jade Reyner

    November 9, 2013 at 1:51 pm

    Congrats. Awesome ABC and you are more than welcome for the award. I love your blog – well, most of the time! LOL. 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      November 11, 2013 at 9:09 am

      Thank you again. I think that, after two years, I am finally beginning to understand what it is I want to say with my blog and I’ve kept off of the soapbox for the most part. However, It has called to me of late. Perhaps a good rant post is in order so I can clear the air and start 2014 fresh. We’ll see.

       
      • Jade Reyner

        November 11, 2013 at 9:31 am

        Oooh, that sounds exciting! A rant post! Can’t wait! 😀
        I’ll make you a cuppa afterwards to calm you down. 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
