RSS

Menagerie

24 Sep

I have a new favorite first line! “Digging graves is hell on a manicure, but I was taught good vampires clean up after every meal.” I just started reading “Red-headed Stepchild” by Jaye Wells and with an opening line like that, it promises to be an unusual read. I plowed through the first four chapters last night and actually missed most of the Denver Broncos vs Oakland Raiders football game. I will provide a review of it for my friends at Find Stuff 2 Read.

The past four days have been event filled, to say the least. Let me give you a little rundown. First, Friday night, the domestic CEO and I went to see the Broadway musical, ‘Wicked’. It was her first Broadway production. Excellent show based on an excellent script. I picked the book up several months ago but have yet to read it. A cold weekend in front of the fire at the cabin might be the best place for that.

Saturday night was spent with or neighbors. Now for most people, that sounds pretty mundane. However, Our neighbors are professional boxing trainers and boxing promoters. So, we spend a quiet Saturday night with several thousand inebriated boxing fans watching one of our neighb’s fighters win the USBA Middleweight title. The fight ended in the fourth round with Caleb knocking out his opponent. He is now ranked 2nd in the US and 10th in the world! I think I see Las Vegas in our future travels.

Sunday was spent CLEANING the house. Considering how much time we have spent at the cabin this year, it is no surprise the house needed a good scrubbing from top to bottom. I find that helping the CEO with this project scores MAJOR points that will come in handy when a writing conference or archery tournament comes up that I really want to go to. And, as I stated in a previous post, being a gentleman is just how I roll.

To top it all off I added a year to my existence and am looking down the barrel of the AARP as they try and recruit me into the ranks of geezerhood. Not yet my friends. I’m at the tail end of the baby boomers and as the youngest of the brood, I will fight it all the way. Actually, for the record, fifties are the best time. Even better than being forty-something.

The best part of the weekend was getting some writing in on a very difficult scene that has been giving me fits. It seems to be working its way out.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Menagerie

  1. char

    September 24, 2013 at 9:44 pm

    That is a great first line. I still haven’t seen Wicked, but will someday when it gets around here. Hope you enjoyed it for me.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 25, 2013 at 9:15 am

      Definitely see it if you get the chance. Excellent musical even though I did not recognize the music. Outstanding writing.

       
  2. 4amWriter

    September 25, 2013 at 6:04 am

    I’m not a fan of books with vampires, but I’d pick up that book with a first line like that. How cool about your neighbors. I bet you hear some interesting stories that you can use in your work!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 25, 2013 at 9:17 am

      Vampires are not my favorite either. I follow Jaye on twitter and I thought I would give her books a try. When I read the first line, I was hooked. The character is wonderful…for a vampire. 🙂

       
  3. byjhmae

    September 25, 2013 at 7:28 am

    Fight geezerhood to the very end! I officially became an “adult” last year (30) & I’ve been pretending I’m still 18 all year 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 25, 2013 at 9:19 am

      How you feel and act has NOTHING to do with your chronological age.The CEO and I are still twenty something. Can’t get out of the eighties. 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
