RSS

Link fixes and MAVEN

16 Sep

First I need to apologize. In my previous post the link to my guest post was broken for a time. I fixed it however, many of you indicated you had some difficulty with it. So for those of you who would like to read my guest post from last week, here is the link.

Fantasy, the purest form of fiction.

Now for some interesting news. I received a call from my brother who works for Lockheed-Martin, an aerospace contractor. He proceeded to tell me that a launch date was set for the project he has been working of for several years. The project is called MAVEN and stands for, the Mars Atmosphere and Volatile Evolution spacecraft. According to NASA:

The  MAVEN mission, scheduled for launch in late 2013, will be the first mission devoted to understanding the Martian upper atmosphere.

The goal of MAVEN is to determine the role that loss of atmospheric gas to space played in changing the Martian climate through time. Where did the atmosphere – and the water – go?

MAVEN will determine how much of the Martian atmosphere has been lost over time by measuring the current rate of escape to space and gathering enough information about the relevant processes to allow extrapolation backward in time.

-according to NASA Mission pages website.

Unloading MAVEN spacecraft at KSC (Photo credit NASA photo library)

Unloading MAVEN spacecraft at KSC (Photo credit NASA photo library)

My brother has been the requirements and verification lead relating to the MAVEN space vehicle. His responsibilities included overseeing the definition of the spacecraft and ensuring that all requirements are met. Sounds cool doesn’t it? Hell, I get goosebumps just writing about it. Anyway, after years of work by a large team of individuals, it is finally going to launch.

Since I have a personal interest in this event, it is my intention to post periodic blogs relating to preparation for the launch and hopefully, the launch itself. If you have specific questions relating to the project, I will try to obtain correct answers and provide them during followup posts.

This is just plain cool!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 16, 2013 in MAVEN

 

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “Link fixes and MAVEN

  1. 4amWriter

    September 16, 2013 at 1:10 pm

    That sounds super cool. I don’t know enough about the project to ask questions, but I look forward to reading your future posts about it.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 16, 2013 at 1:33 pm

      I’m learning as I go, as well. I’ve been to the Kennedy Space Center several times but I have never witnessed a launch. I hope I can be there for this one. Scheduling is always an issue with launches due to weather.

       
      • 4amWriter

        September 16, 2013 at 1:36 pm

        I can imagine scheduling would be difficult. I dropped by the other blog and read your guest post about fantasy — really great piece you wrote.

         
      • Dennis Langley

        September 16, 2013 at 1:38 pm

        Thank you. I also gave me some ideas for future posts. Isn’t funny how that sort of thing works?

         
  2. Matthew Wright

    September 17, 2013 at 2:21 am

    Great post on the other blog – I ‘liked’ and commented. As for Maven…well, you know what a huge fan I am of space science! Sub-zero cool that your brother’s involved so closely with it…and you’re gonna HAVE to share! 🙂

     
  3. byjhmae

    September 17, 2013 at 7:14 am

    That is really neat. Space has always fascinated and horrified me. Take this story for instance http://www.popsci.com/science/article/2013-09/why-mars-colonists-will-definitely-go-crazy. I think maybe we should leave the Mars exploration to the machines.. 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 17, 2013 at 8:26 am

      Exploration has always been a source for both fascination and fear. Those who embrace the fascination are the Columbus’s, Magellan’s, and Neil Armstrong’s of the world. Technology has certainly helped to remove some of the unknowns prior to sending people. But, there will always be individuals who yearn push the limits.

      In response to the article, a lot can happen in twenty years. Maybe there will be a vaccine for insanity before the Mars colony is developed. 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
