RSS

Where are the Gentlemen?

09 Sep

What happened to being a gentleman? What happened to being respectful, of elders, the Law, each other, the fairer sex? What happened to manners and etiquette? These are questions I’ve been asking myself lately when I go to the store or go out to eat at a restaurant. How many men hold the chair for their female dinner guest? Not very many, I can assure you. The last dozen or so times that I’ve held the door for a stranger, male or female, I have not received a thank you. Why? Being kind and considerate used to be common courtesy.

Have we become so self-absorbed and jaded that we have forgotten how to say ‘please’ and ‘thank you?’ I admit that on occasion I fall victim to the MORE ME NOW mentality. When I catch myself I do try to correct that behavior as soon as possible. My domestic CEO has offered to swat my nose with a newspaper when I screw up. But she seems way too eager.

I was raised to treat ladies like ladies. That does not mean being condescending. It does means treating them with respect and perhaps a little reverence. True gentlemen understand that we are outclassed by our feminine counterparts. They are a mystery that we will never understand. Without them, we will never be all that we can be. And for the record ladies, the reverse is also true. Just thought I’d throw that in there to drum up a few comments. 😉

 

 
16 Comments

Posted by on September 9, 2013 in Musings and Odd Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , ,

16 responses to “Where are the Gentlemen?

  1. Jade Reyner

    September 9, 2013 at 3:22 pm

    Excellent! I would like to know where all the gentleman have gone too! And just for the record, if you held the door open for me, I would say thank you! 🙂

     
  2. Eagle-Eyed Editor

    September 9, 2013 at 3:43 pm

    The gentlemen and ladies are still around. Sometimes they can be a rare species and you have to work hard to obtain a sighting, but they’re there. 😉

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 9, 2013 at 3:47 pm

      I agree and they show up in the strangest places. usually where you least expect them.

       
      • Eagle-Eyed Editor

        September 9, 2013 at 3:50 pm

        And I met a very nice young gentleman recently. I was heading into a store and he waited, holding the door open, until I got there. He looked to be about 12 years old, and I thanked him for his thoughtfulness. Now there’s a kid who’s being raised right!

         
      • Dennis Langley

        September 9, 2013 at 3:59 pm

        I too have run into little gentlemen and I make it a point to let the parents know I appreciate their efforts.

         
  3. Christopher Patterson

    September 9, 2013 at 9:57 pm

    When I was dating my wife I would open her car door first. I’ve slacked on that over the years; plus my car at the time was a 1979 Blazer, no power lock control in my hands like I have now, if you know what I mean.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 10, 2013 at 6:29 am

      Power locks do incite laziness as we don’t have to walk around the car to lock the doors. Let’s blame GM! 😉

       
  4. Matthew Wright

    September 10, 2013 at 12:22 am

    We call being courteous ‘old fashioned’, but it shows consideration – and it’s important to show to all people. You’re right, there is little of it about these days. That’s true here in NZ too. I guess its a consequence of the ‘me’ generation, filtering through after thirty odd years into wider society. I miss old fashioned courtesy.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 10, 2013 at 6:30 am

      I miss it too. It showed class and a sense of style sorely missing today.

       
  5. 4amWriter

    September 10, 2013 at 6:25 am

    Great questions, Dennis. I love it when a door is held open for me, and I always hold the door open for anyone behind me, female, male, child, what have you. I think you’re probably right. People are too self-absorbed, in too much of a rush to really see or care about what’s going on around them.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 10, 2013 at 6:27 am

      Perhaps we need to slow down and appreciate our world and those in it.

       
  6. Pete Denton

    September 24, 2013 at 10:12 am

    Well said! More and more people ignore one another and surely it should still be common courtesy to say thank you when someone holds a door for you. All we can do is continue to practice the gentlemanly acts regardless. The world is becoming a sad place otherwise.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 24, 2013 at 10:36 am

      You are right. If we give up, then the un-courteous win.

       
      • Pete Denton

        September 25, 2013 at 3:56 am

        We must not give up!

         
      • Dennis Langley

        September 25, 2013 at 9:13 am

        We will triumph!

         

Leave a Reply

 
