RSS

Writing Euphoria

29 Jul

Yesterday, I turned off my laptop and sat back in my chair. It took ten minutes before I realized I was grinning from ear to ear. I had only written a few hundred words. But, they were critical to the protagonist’s character arc. Before, the character’s motive seemed thin. They did not draw the reader in. There was no anchor point as to why the character would be acting the way I expected him to act.

Now, there was conflict, both internal and external. The foundation for the subplot was laid and I could easily build on it throughout the rest of the story. Most of the story, to this point, has been written as a series of flash fiction based on an image I had for a particular scene. It has worked great to get scenes written. However, they are not tied together very well and it’s missing depth of plot. I decided that to help with the story moving forward, I needed to go back and plug-in some detail.

Anyway, back to my grin. I was really happy with the way the scene came out as you can plainly see. I realized that this feeling of euphoria was something that I felt every time I finished a writing session. Even those times when writing was a struggle, I would finish the paragraph or sentence and sit back. I couldn’t help but smile.

Maybe it’s the joy of creativity. Maybe the feeling of crashing through a ‘block’. Maybe it’s the joy of using words to make pictures. Or, maybe it’s seeing the story unfolding before my eyes and feeling what the character’s feel. Whatever it is. I love it. It’s a drug that is drawing me into an addiction. When I’m not writing, I am thinking about writing and the story to come. I haven’t reached a point where I put the rest of my life on hold. But, I could see it happening. For now, I will write as often as I can and enjoy the glow that comes after each writing session.

How about you. Do you get a feeling of euphoria after a writing session? Does this feeling disappear after you have published a bunch of books? Lord, I hope not.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 29, 2013 in Thoughts on Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Writing Euphoria

  1. scottweberwriter

    July 29, 2013 at 11:45 am

    The first hour of writing is a chore, then somewhere in the 2nd hour the buzz starts and then things get good.

     
  2. Dennis Langley

    July 29, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    The Zone is a fun place to be. it’s like magic.

     
  3. byjhmae

    July 29, 2013 at 4:56 pm

    I get euphoric only if what I’ve written comes out the way I want it. But even if the writing process is challenging, it’s still the most rewarding thing I do.

     
  4. Dennis Langley

    July 30, 2013 at 1:49 pm

    It’s always better when it works the way we want.

     

Leave a Reply

 
