RSS

Excuses and Restarting the Writing Habit

20 Jun

Let’s get the excuses out of the way right now.

Yard work and other labor-related tasks accomplished in the last three weeks:

Leaves and debris removed from all planting beds at my residence. (Domestic CEO and I with shovel and wheelbarrow)

10 cubic yards of mulch shoveled, moved and hand placed in the various planting beds at my residence. (Domestic CEO and I with shovel and wheelbarrow)

5 cubic yards of gravel shoveled and moved to the back of the cabin to create a base for the new shed. (Domestic CEO and I with shovel and wheelbarrow)

Installation of new pre-built 8′ X 10′ shed at the cabin. (Installers had a cool little tractor)

2.5 tons of wall block hauled down the hill and placed to create a retaining wall around the shed. (with some help from the neighbs)

1.5 additional tons of gravel hauled back to the store unused. (Me alone)

Opened up our three water features.

Helped set up, run, participate in, and take down a 60 target 3D archery tournament. (Thank God we had a lot of help with this)

I’m so far past tired, I can’t begin to describe it.

Truth is, since the magazine article went out the end of May, I have not written a lot in June. After a very LONG winter and very WET spring, the few decent days we’ve had were used for  getting the yard in shape for the summer. The big archery shoot took up a majority of last week.

This coming weekend will be consumed by the 4th Street Fantasy (Writing) Convention. After that, my schedule should calm down a bit and I will be focusing on getting my writing habit re-established. I give you permission to kick my behind if you do not see some progress on my WIP’s and my blog starting next week.

Now for a Ben-Gay bath and 600 mg of my friend ibuprofen. And … maybe a wee dram of Irish whiskey!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 20, 2013 in Musings and Odd Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Excuses and Restarting the Writing Habit

  1. annewoodman

    June 20, 2013 at 6:13 pm

    Well, Dennis… life gets in the way sometimes. Seems like you’re getting plenty accomplished, even if writing has had to take a back seat. I completely understand. ; )

     
  2. Dennis Langley

    June 21, 2013 at 6:42 am

    I will make a comeback. The plan is in place. I just need to execute it.

     
  3. Matthew Wright

    June 24, 2013 at 4:46 am

    Writing does have to take a back seat sometimes. I guess the trick is not to let it stay there.- and you’re on to it!

    I’m impressed by the heavy duty garden engineering. That’ a LOT of hard work!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      June 24, 2013 at 6:55 am

      The heavy lifting is nearing an end. Thank God! We should be able to enjoy the rest of the summer with only a few minor tasks.

      “Ouch!”

      Sorry, the Muse just thumped me on the head and told me to “Write, damn it!”

       

Leave a Reply

 
