RSS

One Writer’s Update

06 May

During the past few weeks, my non-writing life has pushed my writing life into the passenger seat. Not the back seat mind you.

I attended a class on Speculative Fiction through the Loft Literary Center. 6 weeks of reading and a few writing exercises unrelated to my WIP. It kept me busy but, the class wasn’t what I was hoping for. However, as usual, I found some takeaways that will help to improve my writing. So, it was a win in the end.

I haven’t posted any new sections on the Actress and the Warlock. However, there has been work done on this project. I have gone back and cleaned up the first few sections. Since much of this has been done as flashes, several plot points needed to be rethought out to ensure continuity going forward. A missing scene of mostly dialogue is where I’ve spent most of my time writing. I want to get this scene done before I move the story forward. I’m hoping to have it ready to post next week.

I’ve been playing around some with Twitter. It has been an interesting experience worthy of its own post. Yeah, I’ll save that one for later. It might be a really short, or really long post depending on how my last Tweet session goes. 😉

Lastly, I just finished reading, On Writing, by Stephen King. If you haven’t read it, I would recommend it. The second half of the book deals with his writing tool box and his method. As with most books on writing, the reader has to take what is said and try to apply it in their own way. The nice thing about this book was that the author put his advice in PLAIN language with very little interpretation needed. Obviously, his method works. On a side note I found the section where he talks about his accident rather interesting. He is very lucky to have survived As a former EMT, having Stephen describe his own experience, brought back more than a few memories for me, of being on the care giver vs the patient. Overall, On Writing, was a good read.

One other thing. I’ve been looking for techniques on editing, specifically, First Person POV, other than trying to remove “I’s”. For example, checking verb tenses in compound sentences. Those of you who write in first person, do you have an editing checklist that you use? No sense reinventing the wheel.

Okay, now I’m off to write some dialogue.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “One Writer’s Update

  1. char

    May 6, 2013 at 11:57 pm

    I loved King’s book on writing. Fascinating. I’ll be interested in your Twitter post. I barely keep up with everything else I try to check…so haven’t added that one because I think I would crash and burn badly if I became Twitterpated.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      May 7, 2013 at 7:37 am

      Twitter is…let’s say….different! Yea, that’s the ticket. Different. I’ll try to get that one ready for next week.

       
  2. Matthew Wright

    May 7, 2013 at 12:40 am

    I haven’t read the King book – I must!

    Twitter is weird, sometimes. When I first joined it a couple of years ago it was possible to have pretty regular conversations with people. Now? It seems to have devolved to an endless string of what amount to classifieds and bot-speak, with the odd real message popping up between. I’ve noticed even the #MyWANA hashtag fills with it – I think Kristen steps on people who spam that one, and rightly so, but it’s an endless battle for her.

    I don’t “do” Facebook, but have been nosing into G+ a little – but really, my blog’s what I prefer, in the end. And writing… 🙂 (and listening to Wakeman, etc… :-))

     
    • Dennis Langley

      May 7, 2013 at 7:42 am

      Twitter is a learning process. I’ve had some success with using it to converse with people. However, I still need to un-follow a few individuals who feel they should re-tweet everything they see. As Far as FB, I tied my Blog to my FB page and that’s about as far as I go there. I much prefer the Blog as well.

       
  3. scottweberwriter

    May 8, 2013 at 11:52 am

    A podcast I listen to (http://selfpublishingpodcast.com) references Kings book all the time. I will be the next book I purchase.
    Chuck Wendig (Terribleminds.com) has had some interesting posts on editing, as has Kristine Kathryn Rusch (http://kriswrites.com).

     
  4. Pete Denton

    May 10, 2013 at 4:53 pm

    I really enjoyed King’s book too. Definitely admire the way he writes even though I need a plan!

    Enjoy twitter, I have lost days on their during the last 18 months, I don’t go on as much anymore, but I still enjoy spending an evening catching up.

    I wrote a first-person POV book for Camp NaNo last August, my first novel in first as my previous 4 were all in third-person. As yet, I haven’t edited a word so I have no tips on how to approach things.

    Happy editing 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      May 13, 2013 at 6:55 am

      Thanks, Pete.

      Twitter is like an onion to me. I keep peeling back layers trying to determine how best to use it.

       
  5. 4amWriter

    May 10, 2013 at 6:06 pm

    I loved King’s book On Writing. Not having ever read any of his fiction, I would have to be one of the most objective readers of his writing book. I think it’s a must have for every writer’s library!

    As for Twitter, I can’t seem to get in the habit. I do well for a few days, but it just doesn’t interest me like other kinds of writing, much less other modes of communication. But I’ll keep trying because I hear it’s great for spreading our ‘message’.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      May 13, 2013 at 6:51 am

      Twitter is different, for sure. I’m beginning to see there are a few distinct reasons to use it which I’m going to post about this week. However, It can be a black hole that swallows your time if you don’t have a plan for it. It is a good communication tool, within limits. I typically see a message on Twitter before I will check my e-mails. See you out there.

       
  6. ltownsdin

    May 22, 2013 at 1:01 pm

    I’ve read lots of advice on editing and “Dunne with Editing” by Nann Dunne had some good checklists. One caveat: I went overboard and took out so many connecting words, my sentences all read alike. Had to undo. 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      May 22, 2013 at 1:05 pm

      Thanks for the referral of the title as well as the potential problem caused by my editing OCD. 😉
      I will definitely check the book out.

       

Leave a Reply

 
