RSS

No Soapbox for Me

18 Apr

I admit I have been suffering from blank page syndrome when it comes to this blog. My last post was eight days ago. I have been working on the next two installments of the Actress and the Warlock but the motivation has been sorely lacking.

This past week, every time I sat down to write a post, it ended up with me on a soapbox, screaming at the top of my lungs at people who can’t think. The topics varied from political issues, to social issues, to writing issues, the world media, and back. The problem is, I promised myself that I would not, repeat, would not use this site for that purpose. I believe in the right of free speech. However, as writers, I also believe that we must be aware of our audience and use that rarest of commodities, Common Sense, when commenting on sensitive issues. Some would say I’m afraid to speak my mind. To them I say, “Any time, anywhere…except this blog.”

SO, I apologize for not posting anything of real interest this week. Next week will be better. I’m already feeling more productive.

As a wise man once said:

Better to say nothing, and be thought a fool,

Than to open ones mouth and remove all doubt! 

Another wise man, close to me, once said:

Someday your mouth will get you into trouble!

Thanks, Dad. Maybe I have learned something useful after all. 🙂

 
12 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2013 in Musings and Odd Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , ,

12 responses to “No Soapbox for Me

  1. jadereyner

    April 18, 2013 at 3:19 pm

    Hi! First visit to your blog but I wholeheartedly agree. There is a certain pressure as a writer to be constantly producing (mostly self-induced pressure for me!) and it’s difficult when everything you want to say is just not right and doesn’t work. I applaud you for sticking to your morals and for having a wise Dad and I look forward to reading your ‘more productive’ work.! Lol. Great blog.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      April 18, 2013 at 3:25 pm

      Thank you for stopping by and commenting. Sometimes we just need to let a little pressure out of the kettle to get the creative steam flowing again.

       
  2. Charissa

    April 18, 2013 at 4:21 pm

    Ha ha. I love those quotes, and have met many people where it definitely applies. Open mouth, insert foot. It’s nice to know when to keep your foot on the ground.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      April 19, 2013 at 7:21 am

      It has been a learned skill taking many years to understand.

       
  3. scottweberwriter

    April 18, 2013 at 6:16 pm

    Ride the bus for a couple of hours and regale other passengers with your views. Be sure to not shower that day, spritz some vodka on your clothes, and wear your shirt backwards. Tinfoil hat is optional. When you are done, get a shower and take the wife out for a meal. Write more tomorrow.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      April 19, 2013 at 7:18 am

      I took your advice and here’s what happened. They stopped the train. The conductor asked me to get off and stand between two rails and instructed me to walk towards the oncoming white light!

       
  4. Traci

    April 19, 2013 at 6:29 am

    Nice post! There is no shortage of folks who are willing to climb up on a soapbox, so it’s okay if you don’t (in this blog, at least). 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      April 19, 2013 at 7:19 am

      Thanks, Traci. I knew you would understand!

       
  5. 4amWriter

    April 21, 2013 at 9:41 am

    I hear you, Dennis. Especially after this week. I also think though that your blogging pals wouldn’t turn tail and run just because you wanted to express your feelings, Dennis. I know that I feel ‘safe’ expressing how I feel about certain hot issues on my blog. I believe that my longtime friends will either comment or won’t, but I don’t think they’d be turned off — unless I was spouting off every week. That’s different. So, I say, feel free to let loose if you want to. 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      April 21, 2013 at 4:37 pm

      I’ll think about it. But like you said there has been a lot to shout about recently. I’m afraid I would have gone off the deep end. 😉

      Now, I’m back to some real writing!!

       
  6. Matthew Wright

    April 24, 2013 at 8:07 pm

    Sometimes the ‘dead time’ is actually as productive as the ‘productive’ time, behind the scenes (and often without even quite knowing).

    Often an idea will float in for me, unasked, while I’m doing something else. And then I never have a piece of paper to hand to write it down… Oh well…

     
    • Dennis Langley

      April 25, 2013 at 7:22 am

      What? No writer’s notebook for you? Matt…Matt…Matt. 😦

      I have been writing this week, just not on the blog.

       

Leave a Reply

 
