RSS

Administrative Housekeeping

25 Mar

Boy have I been busy! After reading a series of posts at Life in the Realm of Fantasy relating to branding yourself (No, not with a hot iron!), I have been setting up a social media footprint for my writing self. I now have an author Facebook page, a twitter account, a LinkedIn author profile, and About.Me page and soon will be out on Pinterest. Woof! My fingers are tired just thinking about it.

It appears, at least on the surface for now, that they are all linked together and anyone who would like the dubious honor of reading what I have to offer, can find me in any number of ways. Actually, if you following the instructions in Connie’s posts, it’s pretty easy to set up.

All of these sites require an author’s bio. Wanting to be as professional as possible, I did some research into how to write an appropriate bio. First let me say there are several kinds of bios. Mostly defined by that pesky word count. there is the 50 word, 100 word, and the most important 250 word bio. This last one is the one you will base the back inside cover of your book with. Kind of important, huh? So, I went to work and polished up a 250 word bio, updated my “About page” on this blog, and set up the aforementioned sites.

Lastly, I spent a little time rearranging some pages and links. I hope it will make finding some of the material easier to find. There will be a couple of new categories coming soon, but it’s a surprise.

Stay tuned as Actress and the Warlock Part VI will be posted soon, as well as, the next installment of What’s in Character.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on March 25, 2013 in Other Strangeness

 

Tags: , , , , ,

12 responses to “Administrative Housekeeping

  1. conniejjasperson

    March 25, 2013 at 3:53 pm

    Thank you for the mention Dennis! And good luck–it takes a while for everything to percolate through the google-verse, but it will happen!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      March 25, 2013 at 4:08 pm

      As I mentioned this was a very well written series. You made it very easy to follow.

       
  2. char

    March 25, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    Sounds like you’ve been busy! Good job.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      March 26, 2013 at 8:12 am

      All that and more. Submitting magazine articles, taking classes, and other volunteer projects. Sleep…we don’t need no stinking sleep! 😉

       
  3. Matthew Wright

    March 26, 2013 at 12:10 am

    Sounds good – and all of these things an essential author tool, these days. That said, I’m inclined to think Facebook is entirely like being branded with a hot iron…not yet a member of it myself, nor too keen to be (but one never knows). The issue is balancing off author platform vs time spent on it vs writing vs everything else, vs privacy – towards which, as i understand it, Facebook has an entirely cavalier attitude. We’ll see.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      March 26, 2013 at 8:10 am

      On a wire above Niagara Falls. We will see if balance can be maintained. Thankfully the fall shouldn’t kill me. Let’s hope.

       
  4. 4amWriter

    March 29, 2013 at 8:34 pm

    It’s a lot of housekeeping, I agree. And we have to keep it updated, that’s the other nasty piece about it. I also wonder about whether or not it’s wise to have the same bio on all of our networking sites?

     
    • Dennis Langley

      March 30, 2013 at 10:25 am

      I questioned that as well. I think I will tweak that a bit. Thanks for calling that out.

       
  5. Norma Jean Lutz

    April 3, 2013 at 1:42 pm

    I happen to be in the midst of a freelance gig, the subject of which is SEO campaigns which outlines exactly what you are talking about. The more I research for this e-book for my client, the more I see things I have left undone. Next thought: when would I have time to devote? But like anything else, establishing credible online presence comes in bits and pieces. No matter that I build slowly, as long as I keep building. (And making sure I have time for my own writing in the interim.)

     
    • Dennis Langley

      April 3, 2013 at 1:51 pm

      Your last line is the critical one. All the networking in the world does little good unless you write something worth promoting.

       
  6. ltownsdin

    April 17, 2013 at 2:03 pm

    You’ve inspired me, especially that you did it all at once. I’m still at the stage of trying to do one thing and then another one after that. 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      April 17, 2013 at 2:20 pm

      The hard part was writing the silly author bio…several drafts and lengths.

       

Leave a Reply

 
