RSS

The Next Big Thing X 2

21 Jan

It’s the little things that we pass along to others that can mean the most. Back in October, I was tagged for the Next Big Thing. It was a pat on the back from another blogger who thinks my work is of note and wanted to hear more about. The person tagged then asked to offer up details about their current WIP. In October, I answered the questions based on my WIP novel. Amazingly, Corey M.P. tagged me again a week or so ago. As I am also working on a shorter unrelated story, I will provide some additional information on that.

Rules of The Next Big Thing:

*Use this format for your post
*Answer the ten questions about your current WIP (work in progress)
*Tag five other writers/bloggers and add their links so we can hop over and meet them.

Here goes.

What is the working title of your book?
Actress and the Warlock

Where did the idea come from for the book?
It’s genesis was a flash writing exercise during a writer’s group meeting. The character seemed interesting and I thought that combining fantasy and western genre’s was different. Since it started as a flash, I decided to try to write the rest of it the same way. So, I set the timer and write the next section as fast as I can without editing. After the time is up I go back and clean it up a bit, though I don’t do a full edit. That will come when it is done.

What genre does your book fall under?
Contemporary Fantasy

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
I’m not up on the younger actors names so I don think I can answer this one.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
Derek Nantan, a North American Marshall for the Wizard King, tries to rid a famous actress of a stalker and finds himself in the fight of his life against an old Warlock who wants to add the actress to his Oscar-winning collection.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
Haven’t given this much thought as yet. I will probably pursue an agent.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? May we see an intro?
Currently unfinished. The target date for first draft completion is March 2013. The draft sections are available In the Short Story section of my blog.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
“Tricked” by Kevin Hearne

Who or what inspired you to write this book?
My brother-in law gave me a few westerns to read and always liked the western United States. For some unknown reason, when I started the original Flash, I knew it would be in New Mexico. I write fantasy and enjoyed the mechanics of the western genre. So I thought, why not try to combine the two.

 What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
I try to mix Native American spirituality with other magic systems. It should make for some interesting story lines.

Here are some of the next big things I tagged previously:

Scott Weber because I really like your writing and I appreciate your constructive critique.

4amwriter because I thought Treasures was terrific and I want to read more of your work.

Shannon M Howell because a short first draft piece she posted and said would not make her final MS was better than my third revision. 🙂

Robin Coyle Because if you have not found her yet, you should!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2013 in Other Strangeness

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “The Next Big Thing X 2

  1. annewoodman

    January 21, 2013 at 7:17 am

    Dennis, My mom has always been very into reading about different Native American cultures and their beliefs… I think the combination of magic systems is a compelling device. Can’t wait to hear more about it as the story develops!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      January 21, 2013 at 7:43 am

      That’s great. I’m looking forward to writing it. As this is a panting type of writing, I hope I can write it so it makes sense to a broad range of readers. Sometimes writing about belief systems can come across as corny. So, I’m going to try and make it as real as I can without offending anyone. Ha, good luck with that last part. 😉

       
      • annewoodman

        January 21, 2013 at 8:10 am

        Truth. The truth will set us free, Dennis. ; )

         
  2. Dennis Langley

    January 21, 2013 at 8:19 am

    Ain’t that the truth! Ha. And by the way, I meant pantsing, not panting type of writing. 😮

     
  3. 4amWriter

    January 21, 2013 at 9:32 am

    Thanks for the kind words about my short story and for the tag. 🙂

    I really like the added element of Native American spirituality and other magic systems. I collect bird feathers and a lot of the ideas behind the magic of feathers come from the beliefs of Native American cultures and other old magic systems. Your book sounds especially interesting to me.

     
  4. Dennis Langley

    January 21, 2013 at 9:52 am

    Thank you. I have had a close relationship with Native American beliefs since I was very young. This Idea came at be out of the blue so I hope I can do it justice.

     

Leave a Reply

 
