RSS

The first 365 1/4 days

16 Jan

Many of you who read this blog, have also celebrated your first year of blogging during the last couple of months.

Today it’s my turn. As usual, I started off on fire. I had no idea what I was doing or how to do it. Many of you were there to share experiences and advice on what to do to get the ball rolling. Thank you all.

I went back an looked at my first post. It was a typical welcome to my new blog site post. However, reading it reminded me of the reasons I started writing in the first place. I remember the first character background that I wrote up for a role-playing game. I gave it to my friends to read and got rave reviews. A few years later I tried my hand at a novel. After about 30,000 words I hit a wall. Real life interrupted me and I never finished it. However, it planted the seed that writing was fun. It was a change of pace from reading. I realized I could write the types of stories that interested me instead of relying on someone else to write them.

The idea to start a blog came as a result of advise from several sources that said a serious writer needs to have a blog. So here we are a year later. I have learned a great deal. There is a lot more to blogging than I ever imagined. Not only must I publish my own posts, but I learned that I have the surprisingly enjoyable responsibility to view, comment on, share, and support all of your blogs as well. Some weeks I do better than others. I am constantly amazed at the wealth of information that exists within the blogosphere. Thankfully, this community is more than willing to share with each other.

The last few months have been about trying to find balance. Most of us struggle with this. How much time to devote to posting, reading, commenting, working on our own WIP’s, and taking part in the rest of our real lives. I am starting to figure out what works for me. So, we’ll see what happens in 2013.

As for 2012, my blog introduced me to some amazing people from across the globe. Many of you have helped me find tools that will make me a better writer. For that I am eternally grateful. My blog provided opportunities to share my work with other writers and editors. It opened doorways to types of writing I had not considered before.

One of the goals of starting this blog was to assist in getting published, hopefully by someone other than myself. That goal was achieved. Even though it was not a short story or novel, the magazine article was published and distributed to several thousand people. I see that as a good start. It lifted my confidence which is always appreciated and needed. 😉

I follow so many blogs and receive comments from so many of you that it would take all day to list you all. However, I would like to reach out and thank a few individuals specifically for their support, generosity, and most excellent humor, which is so important to me.

First is Tony G. Tony is a professional boxing promoter, entrepreneur, friend, and was the individual who helped me kick off this blog. Thank you Tony. See you at the fights!

Then there is:

Anne Woodman

Kate at 4amWriter

Shannon M Howell

Scott Weber

Robin Coyle

Matt Wright

They are all great writers and bloggers that I can count on to make me laugh and make me think. They provide sound advise and share their lives and writing adventures with enthusiasm. Thank you.

I am looking forward to 2013. I have some writing goals that I think are achievable and for the most part, family and friends are healthy. (I hope I didn’t just jinx it!)

My quote of the day: Laugh every day. It makes you and everyone around you feel better. Besides, the alternative is completely unacceptable! 🙂

 
19 Comments

Posted by on January 16, 2013 in Other Strangeness

 

Tags: , , , , ,

19 responses to “The first 365 1/4 days

  1. The Guat

    January 16, 2013 at 3:59 am

    Congratulations! We celebrate on the same day. Cheers to you 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      January 16, 2013 at 11:30 am

      And to you as well! Thanks for stopping by.

       
  2. Eagle-Eyed Editor

    January 16, 2013 at 5:22 am

    Great post! I’m glad to see that Robin Coyle made your list. Reading her blog has made me a better writer, too. I must check out the others on your list — maybe some new friends to be made!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      January 16, 2013 at 11:31 am

      Absolutely, They are great people.

       
    • robincoyle

      January 16, 2013 at 5:14 pm

      Aw shucks, Eagle Eye! You and Dennis made me smile today. Silly grin is more like it.

       
      • Eagle-Eyed Editor

        January 16, 2013 at 9:01 pm

        *grins back*

         
      • robincoyle

        January 16, 2013 at 9:55 pm

        No, no, no. It must be a silly grin.

         
      • Eagle-Eyed Editor

        January 16, 2013 at 10:13 pm

        Yes, Mom.

         
      • Dennis Langley

        January 17, 2013 at 8:28 am

        “Now children!” he said with a silly grin.

         
  3. robincoyle

    January 16, 2013 at 5:13 pm

    Thank you for the lovely shout-out, Dennis! I’m flattered.

    I’m coming up on one year as well and there has been a lot of discussion of late in the blogosphere about how much time it takes, needing to cut back, losing focus on “real writing,” and finding balance. I’ll be doing a post about that in a day or so.

    Congrats on your anniversary. My anniversary card to you is in the mail. Well, it would be if I had your address.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      January 17, 2013 at 8:27 am

      You are most welcome.

      I received your lovely anniversary card today. Thank you for the card and the gift coupon for free editorial services. Most gracious of you to offer. 😉

       
      • robincoyle

        January 17, 2013 at 10:03 am

        The Eagle-Eyed Editor is so generous with her services.

         
      • Dennis Langley

        January 17, 2013 at 1:28 pm

        Hmmm. It got so quiet all of a sudden.

         
  4. Matthew Wright

    January 18, 2013 at 12:32 am

    Thank you for the shout-out! And, likewise, I enjoy reading your blog – keep it up! All the best for some fruitful blogging, writing, and a great year generally in 2013.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      January 18, 2013 at 8:22 am

      Anytime Matt. I am hoping to make some serious progress in my writing endeavors this year, …”if the good Lord’s willing and the creek don’t rise.”

       
  5. 4amWriter

    January 19, 2013 at 8:44 pm

    I love your blog, Dennis. I feel very comfortable swinging by and reading what you have to say. I can still remember one of the first tidbits I learned about you was that you were familiar with Mary Carroll Moore and her 3 Act Structure program. Happy blogiversary and cheers to the next one. 🙂

     
  6. Dennis Langley

    January 21, 2013 at 7:32 am

    Thank you Kate. I always look forward to your comments. I missed going to the writer’s retreat Mary conducts up on Lake Superior this year. Life got in the way. However, I think I can get my MS in shape enough to go this year. At least that’s the plan.

     
  7. ltownsdin

    January 22, 2013 at 2:02 pm

    Congrats on the magazine piece! I started my blog about a year ago and have been thinking about my own next steps. I’ve come to the conclusion that writing and connecting with others is time well spent.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      January 22, 2013 at 3:09 pm

      Thank you. I agree with you about time well spent. Even though it takes away from WIPs, it is another support system that we can all leverage to help ourselves improve.

       

Leave a Reply

 
