RSS

Next Big Thing

29 Oct

I have been off participating in other areas of my life for the past couple of weeks.

What do I find when I return but a very nice tag from Anne Woodman. The Next Big Thing is a fun little exercise going around some areas of the blogging world. You are asked to provide information on your current project.The topic for my next several posts will be WIP so, this makes a great segue.

Here goes.

What is the working title of your book?
Smoke & Goblet

Where did the idea come from for the book?
I have always liked the Luther Whitney character in Clint Eastwood’s movie, “Absolute Power”. It was a very different role for Eastwood and the Luther character was full of depth and interest. Seeing this type of character in one of the cities of my world was easy and helps me flesh out details relating to world-building.

What genre does your book fall under?
Fantasy – Sword and Sorcery

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
I’m not very good with actor’s names. The only one that comes to mind to play the main character is William H. Macy.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
When Liam Livsey tries to fence a stolen item, he finds out that this bauble is actually a phylactery that contains the source of all fear; and that the former owner stole it from a necromancer, with an insatiable appetite for new thralls, who is more than willing to add Liam, and everyone the thief knows, to his collection of souls if the phylactery is not returned.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
The original plan was to obtain an agent. That may change as I get closer to completing the manuscript.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? May we see an intro?
Currently unfinished. The target date for first draft completion is March 2013. Total time would be a little over a year. As for seeing an intro, I will be posting that in an upcoming post.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
“Raven’s Strike” and “Ravens Shadow” by Patricia Briggs; “Witch” and “Warrior” by Marie Brennan

Who or what inspired you to write this book?
As I stated earlier, I love the character. The other area I want to explore is the different types of fear, their sources, and how fear affects different personalities.

 What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
Adoption relationships, death and necromancy, interesting settings within a fantasy city.

I am tagging some of the next big things:

Scott Weber

4amwriter

Shannon M Howell

Corey M P

Elisa Nuckle

Rules of The Next Big Thing:

*Use this format for your post
*Answer the ten questions about your current WIP (work in progress)
*Tag five other writers/bloggers and add their links so we can hop over and meet them.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 29, 2012 in The Journey into Fantasy

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Next Big Thing

  1. annewoodman

    October 29, 2012 at 11:24 am

    Sounds great, Dennis! Exploring fear in a fantasy setting has me very intrigued. Good luck on getting your first draft whipped into shape. It’s always nice to have a deadline!

    Keep us posted on how it goes.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      October 29, 2012 at 12:09 pm

      Kate at 4am got me thinking about a solo NaNo during a different month since November is not possible for me. So, With what is already “in the can”, I should be able to bang out the rest of the first draft by 3/31/13. There, it is in writing. Now I have to do it. 🙂

       
  2. 4amWriter

    October 30, 2012 at 10:50 am

    Love the sound of your ms, Dennis. I don’t read a lot of fantasy, so I am unfamiliar with the term ‘phylactery’. But it sounds cool!

    Yes, I think doing a solo NaNo another time of the year is a great idea. You might even get other writers to join you if you thought it would be fun to have that support. I agree that November is a terrible month to do this, and I am already panicking with the fear (ooh! fear!) that I won’t complete the task.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      October 31, 2012 at 11:32 am

      I am using the term ‘phylactery’ to mean an amulet or receptacle of something spiritual. It’s not a perfect use of the word but it sounds cool and I’m using literary license. 🙂

      Right now I’m looking at either Feb or March for My NaNo. I like your idea of trying to get others to join in for support. Good luck in November.

       
  3. 4amWriter

    October 30, 2012 at 10:51 am

    Shoot, I also meant to thank you for the tag. I have already been tagged with this one by three other people, lol. I will definitely partake, but I won’t be able to get to it until after NaNo is behind me. 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      October 31, 2012 at 11:33 am

      Maybe that means we are interested in what you are working on. Hmm? I’m looking forward to hearing more about it.

       
  4. ltownsdin

    November 6, 2012 at 2:34 pm

    I’d never heard of the Next Big Thing so I’m glad I saw your blog today. And, your book sounds really interesting!

     
  5. Dennis Langley

    November 7, 2012 at 2:44 pm

    Thank you. I hadn’t either. But I like the idea. One of the better tags in my opinion.

     

Leave a Reply

 
