RSS

Opportunity Comes Knocking

02 Oct

A couple of months ago I received an email from a gentleman inviting me to write an article for his magazine, Stick and String Traditional Archery Magazine. Since the magazine’s focus is traditional and primitive archery and I have been involved in traditional archery for many years, it seemed like a good fit. Any opportunity to get material published should be considered. You never know when you will get another one.

After several emails to narrow down possible topics, I sat down, wiped the sweat from my palms, and began to put the bones in the old computer. The content of the Bridge Method article (which starts on page 16) is pretty straight forward. The article discusses how to transition from practicing your archery shooting form, to shooting at targets while maintaining the form you have developed. Archery like many sporting activities is 80% mental and 20% physical. The article discusses how the conscious and sub-conscious mind can work together to perform the perfect (repeatable) archery shot. I learned this training method from an archery coach who was a former world champion. This was a lot of fun to do and with luck, I will be asked to write more articles in the future.

With writing, like most things I enjoy doing, I can only get better if I practice. I have been making a conscious effort to expand my writing opportunities whenever and wherever I can. I participate in a number of writer’s groups,  am preparing two articles for publication in the Master Gardener columns of several local newspapers, and the article for Stick and String. The more ways I can find to write and practice the craft, the better I will be as a writer. I’m hoping that this practice will translate at some level to my fiction writing.

So, What are you doing to expand your writing opportunities?

 
10 Comments

Posted by on October 2, 2012 in Other Strangeness

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Opportunity Comes Knocking

  1. annewoodman

    October 2, 2012 at 9:14 am

    Dennis, It sounds like you’ve been busy! I haven’t been trying to expand my writing opportunities recently, simply because I’m looking for a full-time job in the writing arena. Does that count? Keep up the good work!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      October 2, 2012 at 11:54 am

      Absolutely it counts. Good luck. Let me know how it goes.

       
  2. 4amWriter

    October 2, 2012 at 10:37 am

    Love that you’re writing for magazines. That’s something I wish I could do, but can’t seem to find the time to really commit to anything out there. Blogging certainly helps keep my writing in good shape, so I’m glad I have that at least.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      October 2, 2012 at 11:56 am

      It is different and so far very laid back. The magazine is quarterly so there is plenty of time to prepare a piece and polish it. I can fit it into my schedule without difficulty.

       
  3. scottweberwriter

    October 2, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    Sounds like a great opportunity…even more fun when it is something you are passionate about. Best of luck

     
  4. Matthew Wright

    October 6, 2012 at 9:19 pm

    Always good to get an opportunity like this – good on you, and good luck for the article! It’s all grist to the mill when it comes to honing writing skills, and they’ll transfer into any writing you do.

     
  5. Dennis Langley

    October 8, 2012 at 7:31 am

    Thanks, Matt. It is an unexpected opportunity and as you say, “More grist for the mill.”

     
  6. ltownsdin

    October 23, 2012 at 10:45 am

    Blogging helps me with my writing and now that I’ve read your post today, I’m thinking about expanding into other areas as well. Good luck with your articles!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      October 23, 2012 at 2:53 pm

      Thank you. This opportunity was unexpected but, now I’m looking at other areas. Practice, practice, practice. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
