RSS

52 weekends

19 Sep

This week I will celebrate another year of existence. Another 52 weekends gone that I can never get back. They went by so fast. How did I spend them?

Weekends spent visiting family members who were ill, in the hospital, or at funerals – 10

Weekends spent visiting family members who were not ill – 9

Weekend spent volunteering for master gardener or archery events – 6

Weekends spent preparing for and traveling for business – 4

Weekends spent in the garden – 7

Weekends spent at the cabin (since 6-1-12, cleaning and repairing) – 5

Weekends spent fishing or hunting – 4

Weekends I cannot remember what I did (it’s an age thing) – 7

Overall, I’m okay with my choices of activities. Although, a note to my family – Let’s try to reduce the first item to zero this coming year.

You may be asking, “What is it with weekends?”

A year or so ago I read an article about the importance of spending your weekends wisely. You are given a finite number of them. If the average person lives to be 75, they have 3,900 weekends assigned to them. This number can never increase. It can only decrease as the weekends get used up. Now let’s say that until you are 18 you have little control over your weekends as your parents have a larger say in what your choices are. That leaves you with 2,964 weekends to spend however you choose to. Now at 18, that seems like a huge number. Nothing but time on your hands. When you reach 40, that number has dropped to 1,820. At 50, you have 1,300. At 60, 780. At 70, 260!

On one hand that is a lot of weekend choices to make. On the other hand, how many of your weekends are either planned for you, you are forced to do something unexpected, or they just slip by without a thought? It kind of scares me that 15% of my weekends went by and I could not tell you how I spent them. Was I productive? Did I write as much as I wanted to? Did I enjoy them? Or, did I waste them?

Don’t get me wrong here. I don’t plan my entire year of weekends in advance. However, I have started to question how I spend my weekends. Before I agree to tie up a weekend, I think about how else I could spend that weekend. I do plan a few weekends a year based on hunting seasons, archery or master gardener events, and fishing openers.

I know enough to understand that life will throw unexpected things at you (Please refer to the first group of weekends above). I am glad that I was able to be there and support my family. It was my choice to be there. In my opinion, I used those weekends wisely. The point is, you get a limited number of those precious days when you don’t have to be at work trying to make a living. How many you have left is a mystery. Remember, we will not all be granted 3,900 weekends. How you choose to spend them is up to you. I intend to spend a lot more of mine sitting on the deck at the cabin, writing!

How are you going to spend you next 52 weekends?

 
14 Comments

Posted by on September 19, 2012 in Musings and Odd Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , ,

14 responses to “52 weekends

  1. annewoodman

    September 19, 2012 at 1:28 pm

    Very good point, Dennis. There are events and activities that I sometimes commit to and later wonder why I did… as you mention, our time in general is finite, and I am making more of an effort to use mine doing the things I enjoy most. (And sometimes that is just lazing around the house with the kiddos. ; )

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 19, 2012 at 1:30 pm

      Absolutely. There is nothing wrong with choosing to do nothing.

       
  2. robincoyle

    September 19, 2012 at 10:20 pm

    Only 7 weekends in the garden? What am I doing wrong? I spend every weekend in the garden and I still have weeds!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 20, 2012 at 7:16 am

      Now I did not say my garden was in good shape. So much time looking after family my garden suffered. Though it is mostly perennials and low maintenance. The best way to combat weeds is SEVERAL inches of shredded hardwood mulch. We actually set aside only two days a year to weed the entire property.

       
      • robincoyle

        September 20, 2012 at 9:25 am

        I envy you.

         
      • Dennis Langley

        September 20, 2012 at 9:28 am

        My wife tells me weeding is very relaxing. Weird huh?

         
  3. Matthew Wright

    September 20, 2012 at 5:02 am

    Writing, like I do every weekend (and most days in the week) 🙂 Actually, some will be spent out of town visiting family. Some will be devoted to what my wife tells me we need to do. Time has to be spent well. You can never get it back.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 20, 2012 at 7:19 am

      Ah. The dreaded “Honey do list”. Maybe that’s were the other weekends went. 🙂

       
  4. 4amWriter

    September 20, 2012 at 5:26 pm

    Ugh, 3,900 weekends doesn’t really sound like a lot when it’s tallied up like that. Such knowledge really puts time management into perspective.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 21, 2012 at 11:20 am

      It just helps to reinforce the idea that we should all live today like it is our last and hold nothing back for later.

       
  5. S. Thomas Summers

    September 24, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    An incredible question.

    S. Thomas Summers
    Author of Private Hercules McGraw: Poems of the American Civil War

     
  6. ltownsdin

    September 27, 2012 at 8:03 am

    I like your perspective on this subject. Thanks for the reminder!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 27, 2012 at 9:16 am

      I try and see things as “the glass is half full”. However, I always look to see where the next water source is. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
