RSS

Up North

10 Sep

I’ve been “up North” as the natives like to say here in balmy Minnesota. Little cabin by a good lake.

Good fishing

Quiet

Cool breezes

Afternoon naps

 

 

 

 

 

Merriam-Webster defines vacation:

1va·ca·tion

noun, often attributive \vā-ˈkā-shən, və-\

1: a respite or a time of respite from something : intermission

2 : a scheduled period during which activity (as of a court or school) is suspended        b : a period of exemption from work granted to an employee

3: a period spent away from home or business in travel or recreation <had a restful vacation at the beach>

4: an act or an instance of vacating

Vacations are a wonderful thing. Unfortunately, as the cabin was a recent purchase, we spent a good deal of time working to clean it up and make it our own. This did not leave a lot of time for writing. However, “think writing” was in abundance.

I had a boss once who twice a year went to Cancun on vacation with his wife for a week each time. During his “vacation” I would receive almost as many emails from him as I did when he was actually in the office. Really? I asked him once what his wife thought of his sitting in the hotel’s business center working while they were on vacation? His response was, “She was doing the very same thing.”  Wow! Don’t you wish you could spend $7,000 to $12,000 to go to an all-inclusive resort and spend a week sitting in the business center with you significant other sending and reading work emails?!? I finally told him that if he sent me any emails while he was on vacation, I would delete them unread. It did not help.I left that position before he realized that life is too short not to take a break and enjoy what you have worked so hard to attain.

Before you start thinking that all I did on my vacation was fix plumbing issues, move furniture, hang pictures, wash dishes and do yard work, let me say this. I sat on the deck, drinking a snazzy beer, glass of wine, or Irish whiskey on the rocks at least an hour every day. The good news is the cabin is now in shape for relaxing. The bad news is we may only have a few weeks left of decent weather before the north wind says, “Time to head south.” We will enjoy it while we can.

Do you have a little retreat to escape the rat race?

 
12 Comments

Posted by on September 10, 2012 in Other Strangeness

 

Tags: , , , ,

12 responses to “Up North

  1. annewoodman

    September 10, 2012 at 2:15 pm

    I agree with you, Dennis. Vacations should be mandatory; not necessarily flashy, but restful and (at least mostly) free of work. We go somewhere every year, and those are the memories we cherish in the dead of winter when the world is dreary and sunk into work. ; )

    Glad to hear you are enjoying your time. Gorgeous photo!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 11, 2012 at 7:21 am

      View from the Master Bedroom, only now it has a new dock and boat lift.

       
  2. 4amWriter

    September 10, 2012 at 3:41 pm

    I don’t ‘relax’ well. I like getting away from home but to an interesting place where there are things to do. I love sightseeing, hiking in the mountains, beachcombing, scouting museums and historical places. I can sit and veg for maybe 1-2 hours a day, and then I need to be up and moving.

    Now the ULTIMATE vacation for me would be to have one whole week all by myself, in a cabin on the lake or a cottage by the sea, and write write write UNINTERRUPTED.

    Enjoy your time away!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 11, 2012 at 7:26 am

      Like most things everyone relaxes differently. My wife finds cleaning the house relaxing! I prefer fishing or tracking deer through the woods. But, an afternoon nap comes a close second. I want to try your ultimate vacation either this fall or maybe in the winter when the snow is falling on a silent, frozen lake.

       
  3. Pearson Sharp

    September 10, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    Congratulations to you, you get it! It’s not easy to do, but understanding how important the moment is can be everything to enjoying life. That’s really sad about your boss, but it’s unlikely he’ll ever figure that out. People hear it, but don’t understand it. And congratulations on your purchase! I’d love a little cabin on a lake where I could write, that sounds idyllic. I live on the coast and so a vacation is a two minute drive away and a walk down the beach. Hope your north wind sticks around a bit longer!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 11, 2012 at 7:58 am

      Thank you. I realized a while back that I have been granted a finite number of weekends in my life. The number keeps going down and will never grow. Perhaps more people should consider that little fact.

      The beach works! I hope the water is warm.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

       
  4. Traci

    September 11, 2012 at 7:01 am

    Congrats on getting your cabin in shape for relaxing! Yes, I have a little retreat to escape the rat race — home. I love being home. My *dream* retreat is a clean house, which happens about as often as most people go on vacation. 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 11, 2012 at 7:29 am

      For most of us, home is our sanctuary away from work and school and all those other stressful things we deal with. I am glad you have a place to retreat to.

       
  5. scottweberwriter

    September 11, 2012 at 12:26 pm

    What I learned about owning a cabin is that it is really hard to maintain two houses when you have two kids under the age of 8. I miss the lake, but don’t really miss the cabiin.

    Looks like you have a wonderful spot to spend time for the next 20 years or so. Congrats!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 11, 2012 at 12:37 pm

      Thanks. I’m hoping to do a writer’s retreat later this fall and spend some quality time with a thief, a smuggler, and a necromancer.

      BTW it was a pretty good session last night.

       
  6. ltownsdin

    September 13, 2012 at 11:53 am

    Thanks for liking my post. Your Minnesota lake picture looks like where I grew up. Wishing you many happy hours of relaxing and writing!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      September 14, 2012 at 7:18 am

      Thank you. I’m hoping to spend a lot of time there.

       

Leave a Reply

 
