RSS

Everyone has a story

24 Jul

It is that time again where the world becomes a single spectator for seventeen days. The Olympics open this Friday and are a spectacle so grand that the entire world stops for a moment to watch. For seventeen days, we watch the competition, the emotion, the determination, the courage, the joy, the heartache, the drama. As a former non-worldclass athlete, I can only dream of what it must be like to step on that podium and be heralded as the best in the world. To represent one’s country on such a grand stage must be a moment of a lifetime.

The competition is exciting and dramatic as it should be. However, the part of the television broadcasts that I enjoy most are the personal stories about the athletes. Every athlete has a unique and interesting story about who they are and how they became the best they can be. They all had major sacrifices and overcame huge obstacles. All have interesting character traits. They had support from various people and had their share of rivals who tried to keep them from realizing their dreams. They have finally made to the pinnacle of their sport, a few short days, hours, minutes, seconds, and even hundredths of seconds away from their goal. Still, there are obstacles to overcome and anti-heros from other countries to vanquish. Their life’s journey is coming to a climax!

Does this sound familiar?

Before you lies seventeen days of grist for the mill. If you cannot find a usable plot or character out of what you will hear and see,… well… you will. I have faith in you. Personally, I’m looking for someone I can love to hate. I know they’re out there. I just need to put my twisted hat on and tweak their life story a bit. Oh, I am so looking forward to it.

So Friday night, with pen and notebook in hand, I will in front of the tube looking for the perfect villain. I hope to hear about your finds in the near future.

 
19 Comments

Posted by on July 24, 2012 in Other Strangeness

 

Tags: , , , , ,

19 responses to “Everyone has a story

  1. Shannon M. Howell

    July 24, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    I forgot the Olympics are almost here (or have they started?). See what happens when you don’t own a TV? I’m culturally isolated. I don’t even know who Kim Kardashian (is that how it’s spelled?) is – although when I hear her name on the radio I keep thinking of Star Trek’s Cardassians.

    So, if you find a good story, be sure to write it down and pass it on. I’ll be entirely new, at least for me 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      July 24, 2012 at 3:12 pm

      Will do. You have not missed much by not knowing Kim K.

       
      • Shannon M. Howell

        July 24, 2012 at 3:28 pm

        I wasn’t really that worried about it 😉

         
  2. annewoodman

    July 24, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    Dennis, It’s so funny, because the guy in my writing group (a very good writer, BTW) said that he really hated when articles in magazines like Time or Outside or whatever started with personal details like, “When I met Dennis Langley, he walked into the diner wearing a starched, button-down shirt and a bolero hat. The cook threw eggs onto the griddle for Langley’s sunny-side-up eggs before he’d ordered…”

    I couldn’t disagree with the fellow in my writing group more. I love all of those details and all of the backstory on the athletes at the Olympics. I fantasize about being one of the reporters who gets to put those stories together! ; )

     
    • Dennis Langley

      July 24, 2012 at 3:16 pm

      It never ceases to amaze me what some of these athletes go through for their dream. You got to love ’em. Fantasies are good.

       
  3. 4amWriter

    July 26, 2012 at 7:18 am

    I’m excited for the Olympics, too. I never thought about taking notes on them for writing material. What a great idea! Hope you come up with some great stuff. 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      July 26, 2012 at 8:33 am

      All of that built in drama and sacrifice is just too good to pass up. I just need to twist it into something evil. The frame of reference is key.

       
  4. 4amWriter

    August 1, 2012 at 3:30 am

    Hi Dennis,
    I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. You can see the info here http://4amwriter.com/2012/08/01/awards-in-rhyme/

    You’re not obligated to do anything with it, but I wanted to show you how much I enjoy your blog.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      August 1, 2012 at 2:08 pm

      Thank you. I do appreciate your support and great comments.

       
  5. mentalnotes1

    August 21, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    TWISTED HAT AND TWEAK THEIR STORY….I LOVE IT!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      August 21, 2012 at 12:38 pm

      Thank you. A little madness is a good thing. 🙂

       
  6. mentalnotes1

    August 21, 2012 at 12:30 pm

    FANCY I LOVE THE ART STUFF, IM NOT THAT BRIGHT TO ADD FANCY STUFF LIKE THAT TO MY BLOG BUT I AM A NEWBEE, SO GIVE ME SOME TIME I WILL FIGURE IT OUT.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      August 21, 2012 at 12:41 pm

      Your blog looks great. Lots of color and flash.

       
      • mentalnotes1

        August 21, 2012 at 12:46 pm

        AFTER I MADE MY COMMENT AND PRESSED ENTER, ALL YOUR COMMENTS FROM THE OTHERS WERE CRYPTED, BELLS, WORDPRESS, SYMBOLS, STARS STUFF LIKE THAT IT WAS FANCY.

         
      • Dennis Langley

        August 21, 2012 at 12:48 pm

        That’s odd. Not supposed to do that. I’ll have to look into that with the Admin’s.

         
  7. Jennifer M Eaton

    August 24, 2012 at 2:32 pm

    I didn’t get to watch enough to Find a villain

     
    • Dennis Langley

      August 24, 2012 at 3:11 pm

      The Russian female gymnast was an obvious choice but others were few and far between this year.

       
      • Jennifer M Eaton

        August 24, 2012 at 5:45 pm

        So should we expect a story with her in it?

         
      • Dennis Langley

        August 27, 2012 at 7:22 am

        That is a possibility.

         

Leave a Reply

 
