RSS

Pick a story and write.

09 Jul

Dear Dennis,

As your muse I am asking you, no, begging you to pick a story idea and just write it. I have giving you world-class plot ideas, fascinating, multi-layered characters, and exotic locations only to watch you turn them over for a few weeks, maybe write a scene or two, and then set them aside in favor of a newer idea. It takes a lot of effort for me to create the ideas I send you. I would hope you would show me the courtesy of at least following through on one of them.

Frustrated,

Your Muse

Dear Muse,

I appreciate your concern and frustration. However, if you would just stop giving me new material to consider, I could concentrate on finishing one idea. Perhaps you could do what all those other muses do and provide inspiration for the whole story and not just layout a scene or two leaving me with a blank screen and 50,000 words to find on my own. There is supposed to be a beginning, a middle, and an end. Sure, I know what the plotline is. However, it would be nice if you could help out with the details.

Also, you must understand that I cannot type as fast as you can think. I’m not a touch typist and you should get used to that.

So, get back to work and give me a great gypsy fortune-teller scene.

Ready to write,

Dennis

P.S. You can still work on the Actress and the Warlock from time to time.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 9, 2012 in Other Strangeness

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Pick a story and write.

  1. subtlekate

    July 10, 2012 at 2:20 am

    Hmm yes, I was guilty of this for some time. I have a folder full of starts and stops.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      July 10, 2012 at 1:42 pm

      Yes, indeed. As Mr. Miagi said, “Focus Danielsan”.
      Thank you for stopping by and commenting.

       
  2. 4amWriter

    July 10, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    Ahh, this is one of my tricks I use to get on the same page as my muse, lol. Hope the letter exchange helps!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      July 10, 2012 at 1:44 pm

      This is the first time I’ve tried it. We are still negotiating a bit but we are making progress.

       
  3. annewoodman

    July 10, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    Dennis, I go through periods like this, too! It’s wonderful to have all these interesting ideas floating around, but I tend to lose focus and not see any through to the end. At some point, I have to hone in on something and stick with it (at least for a while).

    I had two other “novels” that I started just before I started this one. When I started writing them, something didn’t feel right! But when this one got off the ground, I had so much to say. Thank you, Muse.

    Hope yours settles down and behaves. ; )

     
    • Dennis Langley

      July 11, 2012 at 10:27 am

      With limited writing time is seems critical to be focused on what to work on. So, my Muse and I are having a little CTJ meeting to work out our priorities. I’m hoping for some resolution this week. The Muse can be a bit fickle/hard headed at times. 😐

       
  4. Kimberly Packard

    July 11, 2012 at 8:06 pm

    Your Muse is so much nicer than mine. We’d have to bleep out some of the stuff my Muse says when I’m not writing. 😉

     
    • Dennis Langley

      July 12, 2012 at 8:05 am

      Oh for sure, my Muse can swear like a sailor. However, I exercised editorial privilege. Trying to run a PG-13 blog, don’t you know. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
