RSS

The View of the Room

22 Jun

Control Center

Since I didn’t have an pictures of my writing room when I posted Room to Write, and Several of you expressed an interest in my domain, here are a few to give you an idea of what it is like.

I also work from home on occasion so the multiple monitors come in handy. When I’m all set up with two laptops it looks like NASA’s Mission Control in Houston.

 **Note – The little sign in front of the desk next to the picture states, “You call it daydreaming…I call it multi-tasking.”  The sign on the wall next to the window states, “If you are agitated and confused, my job here is done.”

Power and Wisdom

The top two images in the Bev Doolittle print are called “Guardian Spirits”. I had the opportunity to purchase the originals when I lived in Colorado. However, I was poor and living in an apartment. Each of the originals was four feet square! The cost was well out of my league. if I even got the opportunity, I would buy them now. Yes, it is a real bison skull minus the black horn caps. I can feel the strength of the spirit behind those eye sockets. 

Inspiration Wall

Items that have special meaning, memories, and dreams. I have a fondness for owl pictures. This group of books are only very small a sample of my reference library. The cuirass on the floor to the left has a date of 1735 inscribed inside. It was a great auction find. All in all, it is a peaceful writing space full of inspiration that fires my imagination whenever I sit down to write.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 22, 2012 in Other Strangeness

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “The View of the Room

  1. annewoodman

    June 22, 2012 at 1:50 pm

    Your office is cool, Dennis! I love owls, too. And I think that populating your creative space with things that have special meaning to you is a great idea.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      June 22, 2012 at 1:59 pm

      Thanks. I just realized, looking at the pictures, how eclectic the room is. Oh well, it works for me.

       
  2. limebirdkate

    June 29, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    Wow. That is an amazing room. I love the bison skull. Did you find it, or buy it? My dad’s wife found a fox skull on a random walk one day, and I always thought that is a top-10 find, very meaningful too. If I had your office I don’t think I’d ever leave it.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      June 29, 2012 at 2:45 pm

      Thanks. I do love it. I bought the bison skull at an auction. I was the only one in the room who didn’t think it was a cow skull. Got it for a song. Brought it home, smudged it with sage and there you have it. I also found a full badger skull which is my pride and joy. Very rare to find any skull with all teeth.

       
  3. Matthew Wright

    July 1, 2012 at 2:46 am

    Great office space – what a cool set of inspirational objects (though I confess to being a bit squeamish about that bison skull). Multiple monitors must make a big difference. Personally I’m always short of screen space – looked seriously at a 27″ 2560 x 1440 px screen last time I updated the computer, but couldn’t justify the cost.

     

Leave a Reply

 
