RSS

Room to Write

13 Jun

Twelve years ago, my wife and I purchased our current home with the idea that it was a blank canvas that we could make into our own. All the walls were white. Okay off-white, the previous owners were all chain smokers. Fixtures were mostly gold finish and worn out. The carpet reeked for dogs and cigarette smoke. The yard was a mess with sparse grass and one lonely peony in the back yard. So a few months ago we finally began work on the last room, my study/writing room.

I asked the CEO of my domicile what she wanted to do with this room. Her reply stunned me, “Whatever you want to do. It is your room and I want you to be happy with it.” God bless this woman who let’s me live with her!

Immediately, I started to fantasize about all sorts of interesting, and expensive, things we could do to give me the room of my dreams. However, she doesn’t call me “The Dream Squasher” for nothing. I am the CFO of the domicile so I am well aware of what I can and cannot spend. So, many of my dreams vanished into a puff of smoke. 😦

That’s okay, I am a list maker so I started to make a list of necessities: Desk with ample room to spread out notes and journals, comfortable chair, laptop computer with external oversized monitor and external keyboard, shelves for books that I cannot part with, oak 4-drawer file cabinet (new purchase), stereo system and wide variety of music (that’s a whole different post), soft overhead lighting, views of our backyard waterfall garden and side yard japanese garden, and a bulletin board for story-boarding.

Then comes the accessories (no new purchases): Bison skull, prints by Bev Doolittle, swords and knives I have made and collected, longbows, quivers and arrows, collection of Native American pottery, portrait of the CFO in his renaissance costume, medicine bag, antique cuirass, English war hammer, various (fantasy, Celtic, Native American) sculptures, and most important a photograph of the CEO.

It took about two months to finish it but it is now my very favorite room in the house. Unfortunately, I have been unable to use it much due to other life altering events keeping me away. The good news is the sea has calmed somewhat and I am spending more time in my new sanctuary. The words are beginning to flow more freely.

I still write during my lunch hour but I find myself daydreaming about sitting behind the three feet of oak and listening to my favorite russian composer. Ah…pure bliss.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on June 13, 2012 in Other Strangeness

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Room to Write

  1. Kathleen Mix

    June 13, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    I’d love a picture of your accessories. They sound very interesting.
    Enjoy your new space. May it help you be productive.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      June 13, 2012 at 1:55 pm

      Kathleen-
      Thank you for stopping by. I’ll try and get a good pic for my next post. So far the room feels right.

       
  2. Christopher Patterson

    June 13, 2012 at 8:33 pm

    I would love to have a room to write in like that; lucky you!! Let’s see that novel progress meter move!!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      June 14, 2012 at 1:14 pm

      There will be some movement very soon. Thanks for dropping by.

       
  3. annewoodman

    June 13, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    Who is your favorite Russian composer? Do tell.

    I love my office, too. It’s turned out to be my favorite room in the house. When I’m here by myself, I don’t even want to eat my lunch in a different room!

    Sounds like you’re set. Great office? Check. Let the inspiration pour into your writing!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      June 14, 2012 at 1:13 pm

      My short list includes: Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Sergei Rachmaninoff, Igor Stravinsky. Even though he is actually Norwegian, I like to include Edvard Grieg. If this group cannot cause inspiration, you must be dead. 🙂

       
  4. 4amWriter

    June 13, 2012 at 9:49 pm

    Need to have the ultimate writing space for ultimate creativity! I have my own space, but it’s cluttered and not used to its fullest potential. Oh well. At least it has a door I can shut. 🙂

    Love to see a pic of yours if you feel like it.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      June 14, 2012 at 1:15 pm

      A good stout door can be very helpful keeping the gremlins at bay. Pics are coming.

       
  5. Matthew Wright

    June 14, 2012 at 1:31 am

    Heh – my wife sometimes calls me ‘the human handbrake’ 🙂 Having a dedicated writing room is a great advantage for creativity- I have one, currently with a few WWII German AFV models for decoration (don’t ask). Yours sounds great.

    I have a funny feeling that rooms of this variety, minus the writing interest, get dubbed ‘the man cave’. Here in New Zealand they are also known as ‘the back shed’…

     
  6. Dennis Langley

    June 14, 2012 at 1:24 pm

    LOL. I like the “Human Handbrake”. It is funny how our exquisite, carefully crafted rooms end up being referred to as caves, sheds, dog houses, etc. I’m thinking there is some jealousy about.

     

Leave a Reply

 
