RSS

And this too shall pass…

20 Mar

Some of you may have noticed that my novel progress bar has remained stationary for  some time. Progress has been made. However, the word count has remained relatively static. Progress was made with characterization. I now know who my main character is and what makes him tick, at levels he doesn’t even know exist. Also, #1 antagonist is ready to enter the fray at a similar level of understanding. This information has given me the tools to move forward with the story. Time well spent, I say.

Reason number two for static word count comes in the form of a first chapter rewrite. A few weeks ago, I submitted my draft first chapter to my writing group, TC Fantasy Guild. As usual the comments were helpful and I made a strategic decision to rewrite chapter one so I have a strong beginning to work from. I made the recommended changes and though it still needs some work, I feel comfortable where it is at.

 Now, “If the good Lord is willing and the creek don’t rise”, I will finish up chapter three by the end of the month. After that, I will need to get busy. I would like to attend a writer’s retreat on Lake Superior in September. But I will need considerably more content than I have now before I register. I’ll keep you posted.

It’s time to write. I will give you the back cover summary in a future post.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on March 20, 2012 in Other Strangeness

 

Tags: , , , , ,

11 responses to “And this too shall pass…

  1. annewoodman

    March 20, 2012 at 1:20 am

    Yes, rewrites will make it seem like there is no forward motion… but if your story is filled out better, with rich characterization and plot depth, it’s all for the good! Best of luck as you keep going.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      March 20, 2012 at 1:26 am

      Thanks. It is good to feel the creative tension building again after the past couple of months.

       
  2. Elizabeth

    March 20, 2012 at 1:34 am

    Sometimes it’s best to revisit the first chapters and make sure you feel like you are on solid ground before moving too much further. It is time well spent. Keep us posted on your progress.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      March 20, 2012 at 1:37 am

      Elizabeth-

      I will do that. Thank you.

      -Dennis

       
  3. Scott Weber

    March 20, 2012 at 9:05 am

    Great stories aren’t written, they are re-written. Fresh paint on a car is nice, but the real magic is in the buffing. I would add other semi-clever cliches, but I’m all out. Keep chippin away

     
    • Dennis Langley

      March 20, 2012 at 7:18 pm

      Isn’t that the truth and nice use of cliches. Thanks for the comment Scott.

       
  4. yhosby

    March 22, 2012 at 1:17 am

    Hey Dennis,
    It’s cool that you’re going to a writer’s retreat. I’ve never been to one nor a conference. I probably should save up money to try and attend one–one day.

    You’re better than me with discipline. I don’t even attempt revisions until I write “The End” on my first draft. Otherwise, my inner-editor wouldn’t allow me to complete anything LOL.

    Good luck with your project. And, I have a question for ya, how did you get your progress bar widget?

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

     
    • Dennis Langley

      March 22, 2012 at 2:09 am

      Check out Shannon Howell’s blog. She provided the code to add to your text widget.

       
      • yhosby

        March 22, 2012 at 2:17 am

        Thanks!

         
  5. 4amWriter

    March 22, 2012 at 4:26 pm

    I don’t know how many drafts you’ve written, so my next words might not even apply. I used to be a big advocate of rewriting in the middle of a draft because something would rear its ugly head at me and I’d have to deal with it before writing anything else–otherwise it could be all for nuttin.

    But I am on the fence now about that process and it was actually something I learned in Mary Carroll Moore’s 3-Act Structure workshop. She’s the one who got me questioning revisions in the middle of a draft.

    I have yet to really put her strategy to the test on a spanking new ms, as I am still working on the same ms that I was when I took her class last year.

    In the end, though, I always go back to the philosophy that everyone has his or her own way of writing. While it’s helpful to learn how others approach a book, it doesn’t mean it’s the best way for everyone.

    So, good luck with your process and I hope you get enough content down so you can go to that fab retreat!

     
  6. Dennis Langley

    March 23, 2012 at 4:26 am

    Thanks, Kate-

    I’m still in SFD mode. The main reason I wanted to rewrite chapter one was to strenghten the main character in my own mind. This was based on some characterization work I had recently done. The plan now is to plow through 40,000 to 50,000 before MCM’s writing retreat this fall. I don’t think there will be any time available for rewrites between now and then. At least, that is the plan. We shall see.

    -Dennis

     

Leave a Reply

 
