RSS

The Keep – teaser

13 Feb

It’s about time I put something I wrote on this site. This is a flash using the main character from my short story. This may turn into the opening scene of another short story. We’ll have to see how it goes.

The two blades came together, one brilliant white, the other dull black. The instant they touched a ray of blue-white flame erupted from the union of steel and streaked toward the undead creature. The ray slammed into the creature’s chest with enough force to drive it back two steps. Ancient wrappings burst into flame. A slender woman watched the mummy thrash about as the conflagration engulfed it. The mummy collapsed and quickly turned to ash.

  Yursi Sonal brushed a stray black curl out of her dark eyes taking care not to cut off her nose with the white dagger. She looked back to the two other mummified bodies sprawled on the ground. A few moments before they had tried to kill her, now, neither one moved. Her breathing began to return to normal as she realized there were no more targets for her spells. As the excitement of battle wore off, her shoulders slumped.

  “You ignorant slug,” Yursi hissed to herself. “Why would you choose a cemetery as a good place to rest after dark?” I must be tired. I should be dead.

  Yursi continued to look about as she slid the two daggers into their sheaths. The waxing moon peaked above the horizon and was not quite covered by the incoming clouds, so Yursi could still tell what direction she needed to travel.

  “I guess I’ll sleep when I get to the keep.”

  Yursi shrugged into her rucksack, threw on her wool cloak, and put the cemetery behind her. She did not notice the pair of yellow eyes watching her from the treeline.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 13, 2012 in Short Stories

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “The Keep – teaser

  1. yhosby

    February 13, 2012 at 8:36 pm

    I really liked the teaser. It was full of action, and I loved the ending. It would motivate me to continue reading to next scene or chapter. Now, I want to know who’s watching her with the yellow eyes LOL. I don’t know anyone who has that color eyes, so maybe a mummy or something else supernatural.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

    P.S. I will seriously keep trying to guess until I find out. That’s just how I roll LOL.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      February 13, 2012 at 9:00 pm

      Yawatta-
      Thank for stopping by. the good news is, you won’t have to wait very long. Watch for my next post in a couple days. It will give you a big hint.
      -Dennis

       

Leave a Reply

 
