RSS

Positive Reinforcement

13 Feb

All too often we dwell on the negative. Our families know what buttons to push. Teachers tell us we need to apply ourselves. The media tells us that we are too dumb to know what is best for us. Our writers groups slice our sacred words to ribbons. And sometimes we actually believe them!

Then we take a break and regroup. We come back and open up our site and find the gem that shines as a beacon. A glimmer of hope that says, someone liked a post, someone made a comment that gives us a new idea, or someone like Shannon Howell gives you a Versatile Blogger Award.

No, it’s not like winning the lottery or receiving a six figure advance for a three book deal. However, it is positive reinforcement that indicates that what I do has touched someone else in some small way.

As I step to the podium to accept this award, I am reminded to complete three tasks:

1) Thank you, Shannon for thinking me worthy. Though my site is only a few weeks old, I promise to live up to the letter of this award.

2)  Seven things about myself not otherwise listed:

     a. Master Gardener through the University of Minnesota Extension Office.

     b. Ballroom dancing kept me busy until I decided to use the money spent on lessons to buy a house.

     c. I have built and flown radio-controlled airplanes.

     d. I am an omnivoure by genetic design.

     e. The first book I read cover to cover was, “Where Eagles Dare” by Alistair MacLean.

     f. I spent eight years working on advance life support ambulances.

     g. I am not a touch typist.

3) Fifteen Blogs that deserve this award (Are you kidding me?):

Robotic Rhetoric – Because he was the first to hit my site and he has an interesting sense of humor as he attempts to destroy the english language. 

M J Wright

 From Kathleen’s Desk

 Teschoenborn

 Writers Write Daily

 Compromise and Conceit

 Scribbling in the Storage Room

Michael Radcliffe

Dawn Ross

Making Baby Grand the Novel

Writings of Cassidy Cornblatt

Writing by the Numbers

Be a Novelist

Jake’s Blog

Nicola l Mcdonald

It may take me a while to notify everyone they have been nominated. However, I will get it done as soon as possible.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on February 13, 2012 in Other Strangeness

 

Tags:

9 responses to “Positive Reinforcement

  1. yhosby

    February 13, 2012 at 8:40 pm

    It’s cool that you took Ballroom Dancing. I attended that class my sophomore year in college (WVU). It was a requirement for anyone who majored in Physical Education, so in my class was only about 5 girls with the rest being strong, built guys (who reminded me of wrestlers) LOL. It was like 14 of them–definitely an imbalance of gender LOL.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

     
    • Dennis Langley

      February 13, 2012 at 9:02 pm

      Lucky you. In most dance studios, the instructors pray for male students.
      -Dennis

       
  2. teschoenborn

    February 20, 2012 at 7:24 pm

    Wow, what a diverse individual; life-saving skills, gardening, Ballroom dancing. very impressive.

    Thanks for the nomination Dennis.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      February 20, 2012 at 7:33 pm

      You are welcome. As Matthew Wright said in a recent post. Writers have to get along and like other writers.

       
  3. annewoodman

    February 21, 2012 at 5:28 pm

    Dennis, Thanks so much for the nomination! I can’t say I have 15 blogs I know of to nominate (being so new to the blogging game), but I’ll give it a whirl… I’m very impressed by the Master Gardener and ambulance information. Such a range of skills!

     
    • Dennis Langley

      February 21, 2012 at 6:48 pm

      That’s okay. It took me a couple weeks of bouncing through tags before I was ready to name other blogs. I have been granted a very interesting life. I only wish the talent extended to being a touch typist.;-)

       
  4. Dina Santorelli

    February 25, 2012 at 10:50 pm

    Dennis! Thank you so much for the nomination! I’ve been blogging for almost two years now, and I truly enjoy it. I agree with you — knowing that you helped someone or provided another person with words of encouragement or advice is so gratifying. Here’s to many more blogging years for the both of us! 🙂

     
    • Dennis Langley

      February 27, 2012 at 12:45 pm

      You are welcome Dina. Though I have only been following you for a short time, I appreciate your posts and insights.

       

Leave a Reply

 
