RSS

Next Steps…Online?

30 Jan

<p><span style=”font-family:Arial;”>I related in a previous post that my first short story is in polishing.My primary writer’s group has had two whacks at it and my trusted group of test readers have added their twenty-five cents. The story is where I think it may be ready to start looking for a publishing avenue. Revisions have gone well and feedback, from those I know, is positive. I will be adding a Work In Progress page soon but in the mean time I have been wondering if an additional test sample of readers is in order.</span></p>
<p><strong>I am wondering. What are your views regarding the viability of online workshops/critique groups? If you participate in them and what has been your experience?</strong> </p>
<p>I truly will appreciate all of your thoughts.</p>

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 30, 2012 in Other Strangeness

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Next Steps…Online?

  1. Nicole

    January 30, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    I used to be a part of a young writer’s critique group…the good reviews were well into the college level of thinking, even though we all were still in high school. By the same token, there were some that were just junk.

    Personal opinion, it depends on how the critique group is set up. If it is an online community, anticipate smoozing around the forums and making friends. It is nice to do, and you meet good people, but it takes away time you should be writing. If you have a circle of people you can count on for quality critiques, that should be sufficient. Naturally, these people should have a basic understanding of the publishing world and of “good” writing (it is a relative term, but I mean that it is clear, understandable, engaging, and leaves the reader feeling like they had a new experience).

    Online workshops/critique groups are a bit of a substitute for quality people you can rely on to give you honest opinions. That is my thought on them, anyway. If you want, you can look into them and pick your favorite one to try. It won’t hurt, but it also might not tell you any more than you already know. There comes a time when you need to grit your teeth, steel up your courage, and just go for it.

    Good luck, and let me know if you’ve got specific question.

    -Nicolette

     
    • Dennis Langley

      January 30, 2012 at 10:30 pm

      Nicollete,

      Thank you so much for your comments. I know that jumping into the deep end is required. My thought was that hearing comments from someone a little closer to the publishing world might help with a final polish.
      -Dennis

       
  2. Ed Griffin

    February 2, 2012 at 4:27 am

    Personally, Dennis, I like a face to face meeting in a serious writers’ group, as opposed to online work. But the ultimate thing is — whatever works for the individual.
    Thanks for the interesting posts
    Ed Griffin
    http://edgriffin.net/

     
    • Dennis Langley

      February 2, 2012 at 1:54 pm

      Ed,

      I prefer face to face communication as well. Though, I may give the online workshop a shot just to see how it works.
      Thanks for your comments.
      -Dennis

       

Leave a Reply

 
