RSS

So many ideas, so little time.

23 Jan

<p>Recently, I have seen several posts relating to writer’s groups or critique groups. I do believe they are a necessary tool for any author. So much so that I recently joined my second group. During my first meeting with this group, they asked to see a selection my work. So, I submitted excerpts from four different projects which are in various stages of completion. They were the beginning 4 pages of a short story that I’m polishing, the opening scene to my first attempt at a novel, the opening scene to an urban fantasy idea that is rattling around in my head, and an opening scene to a character study I was playing around with to help flush out part of my World. </p>
<p>One of the group was kind enough to send me some feedback prior to our next meeting. Her comments were kind, accurate, and useful as I expected they would be. What really struck me was not what she said but rather, why in the world did I have so many different projects. </p>
<p>It really should not have surprised me. I have a four drawer file cabinet full of characters, cities, castles, monsters, plot lines, and potential backstory. Coming up with ideas is not the problem. It’s taking those ideas and developing a cohesive, entertaining story.</p>
<p>Well, over the weekend, I came to some decisions. One, I will continue to polish the short story and submit it for publishing. Second, I will focus on a novel-length piece that I story-boared during a class I took last December. Third, everything else will remian on the back burner until further notice.</p>
<p>There, I put it in writing for the world to see. Look for updates and excerpts in the future. If you don’t see something soon, let me know that you will hold me to it.</p>

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2012 in Other Strangeness

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “So many ideas, so little time.

  1. Shannon Howell

    January 25, 2012 at 7:02 pm

    Interesting. I have the opposite problem. I’ve got a couple lovely ideas, but am having trouble coming up with others (which would be nice when I need to take a step back and let my work “air” before I come back to it with semi-fresh eyes).

     
    • Dennis Langley

      January 25, 2012 at 10:36 pm

      Thanks for stopping by and letting me know your thoughts. Recharging the creative batteries is necessary, so long as it doesn’t turn into a two to three month vacation to LaLa land where nothing of consequence is accomplished. I have done that in the past.

       
      • Shannon Howell

        January 26, 2012 at 3:08 am

        You’re welcome.

        Yes, that is a major risk. I don’t get a heck of a lot of time to write, so it’s happened.

        Right now my blog is filling the gap.

         
  2. Ed Griffin

    January 30, 2012 at 2:44 pm

    Good plan, Dennis — and good post. I couldn’t live without my writers’ group. We’re kind, but tough and we’re all business.
    Ed
    http://edgriffin.net/

     
  3. annewoodman

    February 10, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    Dennis, My dad actually brought me to my senses when I was working to complete my first novel. I kept writing shorter projects–poems, short stories, entering contests…. and he said, “Maybe you should figure out what your focus is and stick with that. Do you want to finish your novel or not?” It made me think. I got stuck into it and at least got a finished product. Phew! Now it’s time for the next one… when I can stop blogging. ; )

     
    • Dennis Langley

      February 10, 2012 at 6:40 pm

      Funny that your dad said it that way. I recently had a writing instructor tell me to focus on what you are most passionate about. Sounds familiar. Thanks for stopping by.

       

Leave a Reply

 
