RSS

Imaginary Friends

17 Jul
Apprentice meets his mentor

Writer meets his not so imaginary friend!

I saw a quote the other day that I thought was worth passing along.

“Writer’s block is a condition that happens when your imaginary friends stop talking to you.”

Talk about a sad, lonely experience! What would you have to do to your imaginary friends for them to abandon you?

Seriously though, the Muse can be a “fickle bitch”. One minute he can be hammering at your brain keeping you awake until you get up and scribble a few lines to pacify him. The next minute she gives you the cold shoulder, slams the door, and leaves you with a sink full of dirty dishes, a lawn that needs mowing, a stack of bills to pay, and no story ideas.

At times when my current imaginary friends abandon me, I have a trick to get them back.

Wait for it.

Here is comes.

I create new imaginary friends. :-) That’s the great thing about imaginary friends, you can create as many as you want.  Sometimes they get me thinking about another project. I have to be careful with this as it can lead me away from my current project so far that I never do finish it.

Other times I consider adding an additional character. The character usually gets scrapped later but it keeps the creative juices flowing. Once in a while the new character gets to stay as it fills a before overlooked need in my story. Whichever method I use, before too long, my imaginary friends get jealous and come back to me. We start working together and the story takes off.

Before you call the men in white coats to come and take me away, listen to the voices in your own head. They are probably telling you to sit down and write something. Listen to them. You’ll be better off if you do.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 17, 2014 in Thoughts on Writing

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Imaginary Friends

  1. sknicholls

    July 17, 2014 at 10:12 am

    I do the same. Sometimes my muse bores me and I just go out and find new kids to play with. It often brings him right back.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      July 17, 2014 at 10:18 am

      Yes, it is hard to change the Muse. We tend to drift back to our comfort zone. Writers who have churned out a large series must have a very difficult time when the series ends. It would be like a good friend dying.

       
  2. jhmae

    July 17, 2014 at 5:27 pm

    I have little voices telling me what works & what doesn’t all the time when I write. They’re very helpful & usually right.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      July 18, 2014 at 7:29 am

      They go by many names; instinct, gut feeling, intuition, etc. but they are still one of our best tools.

       
  3. Matthew Wright

    July 18, 2014 at 5:50 am

    The muse is definitely a fickle beast…and jealousy most certainly brings it running back. True, in fact, for non-fiction as well as fiction.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      July 18, 2014 at 7:40 am

      No doubt.Some times she has to pout awhile first though :-)

       

Leave a Reply

 
