RSS

Sad Ending

02 Jun

On Monday, I received an email from Ned Miller, the editor and founder of Stick and String Traditional Archery Magazine. It stated that as of September 1, 2014, the magazine would publish its last issue. The reason given was not being able to generate sufficient capital to maintain operations. For two and a half years, Stick and string has provided traditional archers with an alternative magazine that provided quality reading and informational articles.

In the Summer of 2012, Ned read my post Room to Write where I commented on my collection of traditional archery equipment. Ned emailed me, stated that he had a new magazine, and asked if I would be willing to write an article for the Fall edition. After a few emails we settled on a topic and my article, “The Bridge Method”, appeared in the September 2012 publication. Then in the Summer of 2013, Ned published my second article, “Extending the Length of Your Arrows”.

I feel privileged to have been involved in Ned’s magazine. Ned was always easy to work with and as a fellow archer, was open to articles discussing anything related to Traditional Archery. Though it didn’t have a huge circulation, I know the people who contributed to and read Stick and String will miss it. I know I will.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2014 in Traditional Archery

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Sad Ending

  1. shelleyhazen83

    June 2, 2014 at 10:54 am

    Print media is a tough business these days.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      June 2, 2014 at 11:06 am

      Yeah. He cut back to e-zine only this year but, even that wasn’t enough to save it.

       
  2. Matthew Wright

    June 3, 2014 at 1:19 am

    It’s sad when publications fold. They do. It’s getting increasingly tough these days – and it was ALWAYS tough, especially for niche magazines. From over here in NZ we have a vision of the Rest Of The World being somehow bigger and more viable in these matters – but I don’t think it is, somehow.

     
  3. 4amWriter

    June 4, 2014 at 6:30 am

    That’s too bad, Dennis. I know how much you enjoy archery. It’s too bad that he couldn’t figure out another way to save it. Unfortunately, the loss of small publications is all too common.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      June 4, 2014 at 6:38 am

      Yes it is. I think maybe he tried to do too much too fast instead of concentrating on the basics.

       

Leave a Reply

 
