RSS

Sacrifice

29 Dec
What ever I said, I'm sorry!

What ever I said, I’m sorry!

If this image doesn’t scare the hell out of you, you are certifiable! PERIOD!!

I say that with experience as I’ve had the misfortune to be on the business end of one of these on two occasions. Through the grace of the creator and some quick talking I am still here.

For those of you chomping at the bit for some juicy anti-gun propaganda let me say one thing. This is NOT an anti-gun post. Sorry to disappoint some of you. It’s far too easy to step up on a soapbox. So, you might ask, “What is this post about?”

The ultimate sacrifice.

How many times have you heard someone say, “I would die for my children?” Perhaps you have even said it yourself. For those of you without children, you might swap a spouse or parent for the children in the statement above. In any case, the statement indicates the willingness to give up everything so that someone else can live. To step into the VOID, the unknown. To cease to exist. That’s a lot of pressure to place on oneself.

Okay, for your child, spouse, or other family member, I can buy into that. And, I buy into members of the armed forces willing to pay the ultimate price for each other. It comes with the territory. But what about someone else?

My first response is, “The list would be very short indeed.” However, history has shown me that I tend to run toward the burning building instead of away.  My gut tells me the list would be much bigger. My instincts are to protect animals, children, elderly, and women. Sorry guys, that’s just how I have rolled in the past. But since the past does not predict the future, who knows how I would react.

This is not an easy question so, before you write a comment, think about what you are saying.

Outside of your immediate family, who would you be willing to take a bullet for? Why?

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 29, 2013 in Musings and Odd Thoughts

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Sacrifice

  1. Nicolette

    December 29, 2013 at 7:27 am

    My classroom. It’s funny, I didn’t expect to feel protective over a gaggle of students who I did not know and might never see again(substitute teacher), but every judgement call I made was centered around safety. I was surprised by how fiercely I was prepared to guard those kids, particularly the little ones.

    Newspapers had a few school shootings while I was teaching, and there was once I missed a gun threat by being in a building across from the high school. Unfortunately I had this huge wall of windows facing the high school (one of the best rooms in the middle school), and making students work instead of watching police was quite the task. Nothing came of the gun threat, I might add, and police found no weapons. Nothing came of the bomb threat, either, on the day the Mayan calendar declared the ‘end of the world’.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      December 30, 2013 at 8:05 am

      This answer does not surprise me in light of the incidents involving schools. It just goes to show that great educators are truly dedicated to their students, far more than they are compensated for. I wonder how many parents understand the level of caring that you have for their children. They are blessed to have you.

       
  2. Pete Denton

    December 29, 2013 at 8:27 am

    Good post. Great question. Outside my wife and family I’m not sure that anyone springs to mind. That’s not to say in the circumstances I’d know what I would be prepared to do. I always think things like this are too difficult to pre-determine. In the moment, anything could be possible.

    A nice, though-provoking way to start my day though :)

     
  3. Dennis Langley

    December 30, 2013 at 8:08 am

    Thanks, Pete. Like you, my list is VERY short. However, as I stated, one never knows how we will react until placed in that situation.

    This was the first of a new line of posts for 2014. Tough questions asking what would you do. It will be fun to see how everyone responds. Thanks, again.

     
  4. Nina Kaytel

    December 30, 2013 at 6:49 pm

    I’ve been in a situation where you had to weigh lives. Before that I would have answered only family, but after the incident my natural instinct is the save anyone. My brother’s roommate went nuts one day and beat his girlfriend, he drug her by the hair, jerked her down the steps. I put myself in the center of it to save her.A girl I barely knew. I faced him down in an attempt to bring her inside I tore a dog out of his hands before he could beat it too then I pulled a shotgun on him — finally bringing his rampage to an end. I did this all in a wheelchair. My life is no more valuable than the person’s next to me. I didn’t have to shoot him, well I couldn’t risk the shot without getting her too. But he knew (and I knew) I’d take it.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      December 31, 2013 at 8:17 am

      Scary stuff. Well done. Stepping up takes great courage. It never ceases to amaze me as to what we are capable of, both good and bad.

       
  5. Matthew Wright

    December 31, 2013 at 3:32 pm

    This has to be one of the most difficult questions to answer! I think nobody knows how they will react in the moment. Years ago I wrote a book on the psychology of military heroism – in which it seemed fairly clear that it’s often dependent on the moment. Military training is geared towards framing that response with useful action.

    For myself – well, I’ve had training. I’d rather face a lunatic with a gun than a knife. Guns miss. Sometimes.

    Earlier in 2013 I stopped an intruder coming into my house. I confronted the guy as he tried to enter the back door. I’m just on 6′, but this guy was about 4″ taller and broad, muscled like a weightlifter and obviously with mischief in mind. I had to stop him. My wife was inside. I was unarmed, in bare feet. There’s no weapon of any kind in my household. So I blocked the guy from entering and talked him out of it. It worked. Looking back, I think part of it was that I went into Spock mode – I didn’t get angry, or raise my voice, or show fear (I didn’t actually feel any fear – I never do).. He knew I’d caught him entering and had his description, which I think is why he stopped – had he just been outside it might have been a deniable ‘just visiting’. But I knew I;d be in trouble if I warned my wife. Eventually he left, swearing. I had the cops at the house within 90 seconds (a patrol car was nearby) but they didn’t nab him, unfortunately.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      December 31, 2013 at 3:36 pm

      I agree with you. Each situation is different and ones reaction to it as well.

      Glad you and your wife weren’t hurt.

       

Leave a Reply

 
