RSS

Winding Down and Gearing Up

26 Dec

plan-cycle

The year is winding down and I find myself contemplating the upcoming year. I think 2014 is looking like a ‘rebuilding year’ as the sports teams like to call it. Getting back to basics fits a little better. By back to basics i mean things like: Proper nutrition, write more, remove stress wherever possible, and spend more quality time with the domestic CEO. I don’t call these resolutions.. They are instead, fundamental changes that will be made to my lifestyle.

Unless we are truly diligent, we tend to drift as life bumps us around with trials and obstacles. Like a ship in a storm we move a little off course without realizing it. The next thing we know we are miles off course. So, it’s time for a course correction. Nothing drastic is needed. just a few tweaks to get back on track.

So, the next couple weeks will be spent assessing where I am at, resetting goals, and gearing up to achieve as many of them as I can. I already know of a challenge or two looming for 2014 on the personal front. I’m hoping that forewarned is forearmed. At the very least I shouldn’t get blind-sided. I can only prepare as best I can and hope for the best.

Some areas I intend to post on in 2014 are tough questions and moral dilemmas, whether posting excerpts of WIP’s is a good idea, a few gardening topics, and maybe an archery post or two.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 26, 2013 in Other Strangeness

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Winding Down and Gearing Up

  1. 4amWriter

    December 26, 2013 at 11:45 am

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, Dennis. This time of year always gets me reflecting, which ultimately motivates me. I start off with a bang, but tend to end with a whimper. ;) Hopefully, this year I’ll get a little more feisty.

    Can’t wait to see what you have cooking for us. I know what you mean regarding whether or not posting excerpts of a WIP is a good idea. I hear that it isn’t, if you want to be traditionally published. But maybe there are some caveats to that rule nowadays. The publishing field changes so often I wouldn’t be surprised.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      December 26, 2013 at 10:03 pm

      And to you and yours Kate. 2014 is beginning to look very interesting.

       
  2. L.S. Engler

    December 26, 2013 at 5:23 pm

    I love the start of a new year because it’s such a great time to change directions and get something new going, to evaluate current paths and explore others. Best of luck to you as we forge ahead into 2014, Dennis! I know I”m planning to make it a productive and profitable year; I hope the same happens for you, as well.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      December 26, 2013 at 10:05 pm

      Thanks. I am really looking forward to the new year go a change. Positive mental attitude going in. :-)

       
  3. Traci

    December 27, 2013 at 10:12 am

    I, too, will be winding down and gearing up for 2014. I set some short-term exercise and health goals at the beginning of November in order to get a head start on 2014. I didn’t meet my targets, but I don’t feel bad about it — I worked harder than I would have worked without the targets. Best wishes for a great 2014, Dennis!

     
  4. Matthew Wright

    December 27, 2013 at 3:29 pm

    Sounds very positive. More writing is always good! You’re absolutely right – review & a positive move forward are the way to go.I have to confess, my own ‘new year’ goals these days inevitably involve scrabbling to catch up on what wasn’t finished from the year before. (This holiday I signed a contract for a revised edition of one of my books, just on Xmas, and I have been writing it on holiday…) I think I’d benefit from your lead here!

    My very best wishes for a great holiday season for you & family – and for every success in 2014! It’s going to be a great year.

     
    • Dennis Langley

      December 30, 2013 at 7:59 am

      Thank you, Matt. 2013 seems to be wrapping up on a positive note so I am optimistic for 2014.

      I hope your projects work out well and that Mother nature give you a break this year.

       

Leave a Reply

 
